Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

replacing dimmer need help (wall has 2 wires, dimmer has 3+ground)!

replacing dimmer need help (wall has 2 wires, dimmer has 3+ground)!

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-14, 11:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy replacing dimmer need help (wall has 2 wires, dimmer has 3+ground)!

the wall has

1 Black
1 Red
when I use a electrical detector the black one is the hot one

Name:  photo 1.jpg
Views: 667
Size:  28.8 KB




my dimmer has
1 red, 1 black, 1 white, 1 green (ground)
RF9537-NAW 1000W Electronic Low Voltage (ELV)
Name:  photo 2.jpg
Views: 659
Size:  40.6 KB
I tried connected in any combination but no go.


I thought maybe I need an accessory type of dimmer so I used this
RF9547-ZAW
1 black, 1 white, 1 green (ground)

Name:  photo 3.jpg
Views: 596
Size:  43.2 KB

still no go... what am I missing?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-27-14, 12:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 479 Votes on 449 Posts
The first dimmer requires a neutral to operate.
The second unit appears to be the remote for the first dimmer.... probably for 3 way applications.

You are showing us a junction box with a red and black wire only. I don't see any other wires in the box. That tells me that you have a metal conduit system and just a switch leg there with no neutral. You may be able to locate the other end of that conduit and pull a neutral to that point.
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-14, 02:04 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
what am I missing?
A grounded conductor, aka a neutral wire, in your switch box. If you want to keep that dimmer and you have wiring run in conduit, you can pull a neutral to there, as PJ suggested. If you don't really care what dimmer you use, you can return the two dimmers you have now and buy an ordinary dimmer that doesn't require a neutral.

Two questions:
  1. Does that dimmer have a special feature that you want to have that requires a neutral connection? Does it light up or something?
  2. What type of lamps (light bulbs) will be controlled by the dimmer?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: