Kitchen Island circuit question

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-27-14, 08:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Kitchen Island circuit question

I am buttoning up all my electrical at the new house (thanks gain for all of you who have answered questions in the past BTW) and am ready to install my receptacle on the kitchen Island. I have a "L" shaped kitchen, one of my SABC's serves one wall and is protected by a GFCI receptacle, I would like to feed my second SABC on the short wall of the "L" (only one receptacle) from a GFCI on the Island. Is that permitted?

Wes
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-27-14, 08:58 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Yes, all the receptacles including the island must fall under the SABC rule, and you must have two, so you should be good to go.
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-14, 09:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 72
chandler
Yes, all the receptacles including the island must fall under the SABC rule, and you must have two, so you should be good to go.
Thanks! Any suggestions on box type and wire type for putting the receptacle in?

I assume a old work plastic box and unprotected romex will not cut it. Would flexible steel conduit and a metal box be best?
 
  #4  
Old 04-27-14, 10:17 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Yep, door #2. Must be protected, and it will only fit a metal box. #12 wire for 20 amp circuit. You could use gray pvc conduit and a plastic box with fittings.
 
  #5  
Old 04-27-14, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Thanks again,

I have plenty of 3/4" FCM and fittings around, I'll grab a box and some #12 THHN tonight.
 
  #6  
Old 04-27-14, 12:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
Watch the depth of the box on the island so it does not hit the drawers.
 
  #7  
Old 04-27-14, 01:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 72
I have already made provisions to get the box installed w/o hitting the drawers (perks to installing all the cabinets myself!)

As far as conduit goes, can I run fnmc in between metal boxes? (I have a lot of it from a previous project) I have the appropriate fittings for the fnmc. Can they be used with metal boxes?

Wes
 
  #8  
Old 04-27-14, 01:12 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,284
Can they be used with metal boxes?
Yes, just be sure to connect the ground of the NM cable to the metal box using a ground screw, ground lead, or clip.
 
  #9  
Old 04-27-14, 01:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Perfect, Boxes have ground screws already.

Is it allowed to pull romex through fnmc? Or should I go out and buy a few small spools of solid thhn?
 
  #10  
Old 04-27-14, 01:41 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,284
Yes, you can pull NM cable through conduit and use the conduit for protection of the cable. For an entire job I would suggest individual wires, but for a short section it should be fine.

I should ask, what are you calling FNMC? Is it ENT (electrical nonmetallic tubing AKA:smurf pipe) or LFNC? (Liquid tight nonmetallic conduit)
 
  #11  
Old 04-27-14, 01:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 72
It's LFNC, not smurf tube.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes