Connecting into a chain of outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-14, 04:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting into a chain of outlets

scenario #1
if there is a direct linear chain of 5 residential outlet boxes is it acceptable to tap into one of the boxes in order to run another leg with another 1 or 2 duplex receptacles? if so is it acceptable to take off from the unused terminal screws of the outlet rather than have to redo the existing pigtails?

scenario #2
if there is no convenient existing outlet box to tap into is it acceptable to tap into the wire midway, add a splice/junction box and continue from there with the second leg?
note- the only problem with this is that there is not enough slack in the wire so an additional foot of wire will be required to be spliced to extend to the existing run, meaning another splice box next to the junction box.

thanks for the advice
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-14, 05:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes to #1 and #2. As to #1 pigtails are considered slightly more reliable. As to #2, yes two boxes and both must remain assessable. Two Caveats: Ungrounded wiring can not be extended and existing load must be determined before deciding if a new load can be added.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-14, 05:15 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have you calculated the load on that circuit? That's the most important thing.
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-14, 06:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Another thing to consider is if the boxes have enough cubic inch capacity for an additional cable. A larger box might be needed.
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-14, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wiring in question is for a basement workshop and will be 12ga wire.
The most consistent draw will be six 4ft fluorescent light segments (2 bulbs in each segment) and a radio. Everything else will be intermittent draws, shop vac, power tools, chargers etc.

How would i go about formally calculating the load? And is there a maximum number of outlets permitted per run?

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-14, 06:14 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
The NEC does not have a limit on receptacles in a residential setting. The load is determined by the equipment that will be used on the circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-14, 08:23 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,050
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
The most consistent draw will be six 4ft fluorescent light segments (2 bulbs in each segment) and a radio. Everything else will be intermittent draws, shop vac, power tools, chargers etc.
I'd forget about getting power from the existing circuit and install a new 20 amp circuit since power tools will be used.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: