Treadmill keeps blowing varistor...HELP

Old 04-29-14, 10:30 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Treadmill keeps blowing varistor...HELP

hi
i am not an expert in electronic, i know to solder, troubleshoot small problems but this i do not know what could be the problem.
my treadmill keeps blowing the varistor, i replace the varistor, start the treadmill all ok, when i put my weight in it, varistor blows all the time, i believe that could be related with power supply but i would like to confirm, or if someone can point me in the right direction.
thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Old 04-29-14, 01:07 PM
Group Moderator
Received 376 Votes on 353 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

With a schematic diagram it would be a simple job to help you. I'd imagine you don't have a schematic there.

How did you know you needed a varistor ? A varistor is usually used to stabilize power.
Based on how it's used in the circuit you may be able to use a larger value part.

Have you been in contact with the manufacturer of the treadmill in relation to this problem ?
A make and model number would be helpful too.

Old 04-29-14, 06:04 PM
hi pjmax
thanks for answering
i know that is the varistor because it explodes when i put weight in treadmill, it explodes!!!
the model is Domyos TC-450, i do not have a diagram, i can do photos of everything if that helps, i live in france and do not speak french, i cannot speak with support here.
i was in domyos site and can only get the user guide that do not have nothing important for this matter.

i attached 2 photos, one you can see varistor exploded and the other the board where it is

as i said varistor only explodes when i go over the treadmill, i force the motor demanding more current i presume, if treadmill does not have weight in it, the varistor does not explode and treadmill works normally.

hope i can give you some light about my problem for that you can give some light how to repair it.

Attached Images