Need help adding 220 for compressor/welder


  #1  
Old 04-29-14, 07:20 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: corona Ca.
Posts: 457
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help adding 220 for compressor/welder

Hi all, my house was built in 1988. I need to add a 220 for a welder and an air compressor. The box is located on the outside of the garage. There is currently only one slot available. What do I need to do to move things around if possible to make room for a 220 breaker thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 04-29-14, 07:26 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: corona Ca.
Posts: 457
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of my box, thanks!
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 04-29-14, 07:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Your house has 240 not 220 available. You may be able to use tandems in your box to free up space. We need to know the make and model number of your beaker box and the number of breakers in the box.

To help us help you wire it we will need to know the full load amps of the compressor and the welder. Also size of your main breaker and is your house primarily gas or electric?
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-14, 08:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
Interesting panel..... has 28 spaces but is only setup to use 14

Bryant/Murray and pretty well maxed out. About the only breakers left to convert are right below the twin red handled breaker. What size are those two breakers and what color wires are going to them ?
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-14, 08:06 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: corona Ca.
Posts: 457
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The house is primarily gas...gas dryer, gas oven, gas heater. a/c is electric, as is other typical accessories. Unfortunately the box has no identifying information on it. It has a centron openway itron meter (not sure if that's relevant) 240v,3w,c2sod meter.

the service disconnect to the box is an e16248 30 amp 2 pole 120/240vac...it has 100 and 100 on it

currently there are 6 small 15 amp breakers, three of the larger 20 amp breakers,

1 large 15 amp breaker, a dual 15 and a 60, which I think are two other 240 sources, and the main disconnect

as for the size of the compressor and welder, I'm still shopping on the welder, but the compressor is a 22 amp compressor
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-14, 08:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Please post a picture of the main disconnect with the cover off.
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-14, 09:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: corona Ca.
Posts: 457
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thx for the replies, the breaker under the red one is a 20 amp, and has two dark colored wires (black?) going to it...see picture.

I've enclosed a picture of the main disconnect, it's the one with the dual 100 on it...If you need a picture of it with the wiring in back, please let me know
 
Attached Images    
  #8  
Old 04-29-14, 09:23 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: corona Ca.
Posts: 457
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is main disconnect picture with wiring
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 04-30-14, 06:42 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 187 Upvotes on 168 Posts
Interesting panel..... has 28 spaces but is only setup to use 14
Yes, strange, but I think it is capable of a total of 24 circuits with 12 useable positions; the 100 amp breaker appears to be the main disconnect. All other positions appear to be able to accept tandems and/or quads.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: