Adding a Receptacle - Basic Questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-14, 12:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Question Adding a Receptacle - Basic Questions

I want to add a new receptacle inside a closet. Luckily, the bedroom behind this closet has an outlet, so all I need to do is patch into that and I'm good to go. Just have a couple questions...
  1. The current receptacle is in the middle of the run (w/ a feed in & out cable). The hot & neutral cables are fed through the push-in holes on the back of the receptacle, leaving the side screws available. If I connect the hot/neutral on my new receptacle to those side screws, is that a "legit" way of tapping into the power?
  2. Regarding the ground, the current receptacle has the feed in/out grounds twisted together, crimped, and connected to the ground screw. If I join this ground with my new receptacle's ground using a green wire nut, is that considered "legit"?
  3. The run between receptacles will be fairly short, but am I supposed to use any sort of conduit?

Appreciate the advice!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-14, 01:17 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
The current receptacle is in the middle of the run (w/ a feed in & out cable). The hot & neutral cables are fed through the push-in holes on the back of the receptacle, leaving the side screws available. If I connect the hot/neutral on my new receptacle to those side screws, is that a "legit" way of tapping into the power?
Do not use the backstabs, they aren't reliable. In fact, remove the back stabbed wires from the existing receptacle and pigtail each color with the same color and same size wire including your new tap wires. Then reconnect to the existing receptacle. Your new cable can then be connected to the new receptacle by the screw terminals.

Regarding the ground, the current receptacle has the feed in/out grounds twisted together, crimped, and connected to the ground screw. If I join this ground with my new receptacle's ground using a green wire nut, is that considered "legit"?
The color of the wire nut makes no difference, but yes, use a wire nut.

The run between receptacles will be fairly short, but am I supposed to use any sort of conduit?
Is the existing wiring in conduit? Does your local AHJ require conduit? The NEC doesn't require conduit, if conduit is required it's a local requirement. All codes are local.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-14, 05:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Do not use the backstabs, they aren't reliable. In fact, remove the back stabbed wires from the existing receptacle and pigtail each color with the same color and same size wire including your new tap wires. Then reconnect to the existing receptacle. Your new cable can then be connected to the new receptacle by the screw terminals.
I've definitely read about the pro's and con's of backstabs vs screws. Sadly, my entire house is wired like this. The box looks pretty full and I think I'd had a hard time getting all those pigtails to fit. So if I go with the original plan (keep backstabs where they are and attach the new wire to the screws), will that work?

The color of the wire nut makes no difference, but yes, use a wire nut.
I figured as such, but the green ones I have have a little hole on the end to run a through wire out to the ground screw.

Is the existing wiring in conduit? Does your local AHJ require conduit? The NEC doesn't require conduit, if conduit is required it's a local requirement. All codes are local.
I'll double check the Seattle code and see if they require conduit. Not sure if the current box has conduit, but I'll know soon as I open that wall on the other side.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-14, 05:34 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You may need to install a larger device box in order to have space for the new cable.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-14, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Question

Just finished the project, but haven't turned the power back on yet - thought I'd post some photos to get my work double-checked. ;-)

When I popped off the old receptacle, there were actually 3 wires already in the box. 2 were in the backstabs, and 1 was on the bottom screws. The three grounds were twisted, crimped, and a single ground was connected to the green screw. Here's a photo...

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 394
Size:  36.2 KB

I ran my new wire into the box and connected the hot/neutral to the available top screws on the old receptacle. I then gave the ground a couple twists around the existing ground, fed them into a green grounding wiring nut, and attached the protruding wire to the receptacle's green screw. Here's the finished product...

Name:  2.jpg
Views: 473
Size:  31.5 KB

Look good?
 
Attached Images   
  #6  
Old 05-02-14, 05:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,054
I don't see any pigtails. You didn't put two wires on one screw did you?
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-14, 06:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Nope. Just 1 wire on that ground screw. I used the green wire nut as directed where all the wires go in the bottom and one comes out the end. That's the one that is connected to the ground screw.
 
  #8  
Old 05-02-14, 07:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,054
Not talking about the ground. I count way too many wires for four screws. You surely didn't back stab any wires did you? Back stabs are less reliable. Best practice all blacks should have been connected to one pigtail. All whites to another. Then the two pigtails to the screws.
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-14, 07:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
I personally don't like to use backstabs, but apparently the electrician who wires my house does. This receptacle had both sets of backstabs in use and one set of screws. I used the open set of screws.
 
  #10  
Old 05-02-14, 08:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,054
It would be best to change to pigtails. Lots of problems posted in this forum are because of failed back stabs.
 
  #11  
Old 05-02-14, 08:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Right on, appreciate your time.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes