Wire pulling in filled conduit


  #1  
Old 05-05-14, 01:16 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wire pulling in filled conduit

Is pulling (or pushing if its a one man show) wire into a conduit that already has wire in it a bad idea?

reason I ask....

I just had to push 2 #14 in a conduit that already had 2 #14 in it... it was going smoothly until the end when I had to use more force to get it pushed thru. I am paranoid I damaged a wire that was already in there but I am of the worrying sort... (I did tape the cut end).
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-14, 01:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,090
Received 3,979 Upvotes on 3,571 Posts
It's pretty hard to damage the wire's insulation with another wire. You more than likely got stuck at the fitting at the end.

When you get experience running wire thru conduit you learn all the shortcuts.

In your case you could have taped the wires together but left one wire an inch or so longer. Then bend a sharp bend in the end so it's rolled over. This way you would have pushed thru a rounded end.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-14, 06:27 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
OR......use a non-metallic fish tape.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: