Wire pulling in filled conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-14, 01:16 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wire pulling in filled conduit

Is pulling (or pushing if its a one man show) wire into a conduit that already has wire in it a bad idea?

reason I ask....

I just had to push 2 #14 in a conduit that already had 2 #14 in it... it was going smoothly until the end when I had to use more force to get it pushed thru. I am paranoid I damaged a wire that was already in there but I am of the worrying sort... (I did tape the cut end).
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-14, 01:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,058
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
It's pretty hard to damage the wire's insulation with another wire. You more than likely got stuck at the fitting at the end.

When you get experience running wire thru conduit you learn all the shortcuts.

In your case you could have taped the wires together but left one wire an inch or so longer. Then bend a sharp bend in the end so it's rolled over. This way you would have pushed thru a rounded end.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-14, 06:27 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,651
Received 86 Votes on 76 Posts
OR......use a non-metallic fish tape.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: