Exahust fan question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-14, 03:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 56
Question Exahust fan question

This is a odd one.. two switches one for the light and one for the fan, the light seems to be tied into the fan switch but when I opened up the box you had a white wire just hanging in the box with electrical tape over the end, the fan has no power, from the measurements I took on the switch closest to the camera, the top black to box is 120V and the other is 0V

I'm not sure what's going on

Name:  2ik7bk7.jpg
Views: 201
Size:  35.3 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-05-14 at 04:45 PM. Reason: Remove Tinypic linkks and insert image.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-14, 03:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
Welcome to the forums.

That is actually wired to new code which requires a neutral at every switch location.... whether used or not. In your case.... the neutral was not needed.

At that box you have one black wire that should have 120vac on it and it's connected to one side of each switch. The two taped black wires are the switched lines to the appliance.

Have you measured any 120vac at this box ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-14, 03:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 56
I have 120V at the switch, the light is connected to the switch that should be powering the fan, when I flip the switch to the fan I get nothing at all..
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-14, 03:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
Did you check for 120vac on both sides of the switch when it's turned on ?
Check to that white wire in the box. It is very likely that you have your 120v but are missing the neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-14, 03:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 56
Here is what happens when the switch is off the voltage is 86.7v when its on its 0v

Now that white wire to the hot To the white wire is 120v

Now if I turn the switch on and check the lower black wire to the white I get 120v with the switch on and 24v with the switch in the off position
 
  #6  
Old 05-05-14, 04:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
With the switch on.........
do you get 120v from each screw to the white wire ?
do you get 120v from each screw to the metal box ?
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-14, 04:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 56
yes and yes I get 120v with the switch on
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-14, 04:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
Then 120vac is not your problem. You have power entering and leaving the switches.

Now you need to go back to the fan and check voltage from the black to the white and from that black to ground.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'