Running power to detached garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-14, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running power to detached garage

I was looking into running power out to my garage to install power for 2 garage door openers, 3 lights and 4 outlets for small items (TV, radio...). The run is 90 feet from panel inside house to garage. I was thinking 12-3 wire from 20 amp breakers buried 18" deep in grey pvc to junction box in garage with 2 GFIC outlets in the junction box. 1 for each circuit and then branch off from the load side of those. Does this sound ok or do I HAVE to go heavier wire and a sub-panel?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-14, 06:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes: 0
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I was thinking 12-3 wire from 20 amp breakers buried 18" deep in grey pvc to junction box in garage with 2 GFIC outlets in the junction box.
12-3 would be cable. Best practice is to use individual (THWN) wire in conduit because it is easier to pull. A mutiwire circuit should give you plenty of power without needing a sub panel. You will need a disconnect at the garage. Either a DPST 20 amp switch or an unfused A/C disconnect. At the main panel you will need either two handle tied single pole breakers or a 2-pole breaker.

Name:  Multiwire_Shed-Garage.jpg
Views: 12559
Size:  50.2 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-06-14 at 08:54 AM.
  #3  
Old 05-05-14, 06:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,817
Received 33 Votes on 29 Posts
You can use cable if you want, (as Ray said, not recommended) but if you do it needs to be UF.
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-14, 06:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #5  
Old 05-05-14, 07:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,911
Received 17 Votes on 12 Posts
That one would work fine, but this one would also work just as well for half the price.

Shop Eaton 60-Amp Non-Fusible Metallic Disconnect at Lowes.com
 
  #6  
Old 05-09-14, 01:31 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As was said you need to use UF if you're going to bury it. NM is not rated for exterior use and is not allowed to be run in a conduit unless only for protection from physical damage. Either use the THWN in a conduit to a sub-panel (my recommendation) or bury the UF straight to the garage.
 
  #7  
Old 05-09-14, 06:11 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,911
Received 17 Votes on 12 Posts
NM is not rated for exterior use and is not allowed to be run in a conduit unless only for protection from physical damage.
Although the NEC does not prohibit running NM cable in conduit, it isn't a good practice and would be hard to pull any distance and around bends.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes