Running power to detached garage


  #1  
Old 05-05-14, 06:58 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running power to detached garage

I was looking into running power out to my garage to install power for 2 garage door openers, 3 lights and 4 outlets for small items (TV, radio...). The run is 90 feet from panel inside house to garage. I was thinking 12-3 wire from 20 amp breakers buried 18" deep in grey pvc to junction box in garage with 2 GFIC outlets in the junction box. 1 for each circuit and then branch off from the load side of those. Does this sound ok or do I HAVE to go heavier wire and a sub-panel?
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-14, 07:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I was thinking 12-3 wire from 20 amp breakers buried 18" deep in grey pvc to junction box in garage with 2 GFIC outlets in the junction box.
12-3 would be cable. Best practice is to use individual (THWN) wire in conduit because it is easier to pull. A mutiwire circuit should give you plenty of power without needing a sub panel. You will need a disconnect at the garage. Either a DPST 20 amp switch or an unfused A/C disconnect. At the main panel you will need either two handle tied single pole breakers or a 2-pole breaker.

Name:  Multiwire_Shed-Garage.jpg
Views: 20104
Size:  50.2 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-06-14 at 09:54 AM.
  #3  
Old 05-05-14, 07:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,301
Received 868 Upvotes on 731 Posts
You can use cable if you want, (as Ray said, not recommended) but if you do it needs to be UF.
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-14, 07:56 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
  #5  
Old 05-05-14, 08:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
That one would work fine, but this one would also work just as well for half the price.

Shop Eaton 60-Amp Non-Fusible Metallic Disconnect at Lowes.com
 
  #6  
Old 05-09-14, 02:31 PM
S
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
As was said you need to use UF if you're going to bury it. NM is not rated for exterior use and is not allowed to be run in a conduit unless only for protection from physical damage. Either use the THWN in a conduit to a sub-panel (my recommendation) or bury the UF straight to the garage.
 
  #7  
Old 05-09-14, 07:11 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
NM is not rated for exterior use and is not allowed to be run in a conduit unless only for protection from physical damage.
Although the NEC does not prohibit running NM cable in conduit, it isn't a good practice and would be hard to pull any distance and around bends.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: