Combo Washer Dryer wiring help needed.

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-14, 08:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Combo Washer Dryer wiring help needed.

I found a good deal on a stacked combo washer. Maytag se1000. This is the old type that will last a lifetime. It has the tried and true helical drive! Im done with junk front loaders.

Anyways I'm moving the laundry facilities upstairs to an unused closet. I have all my plumbing run with out any problem. Now I have to run the electric. The Dryer part of the machine runs off 240 and the washer part runs off 120. I know code says I can split at the receptacle and pull my 120 off one leg. Can I wire the 120 to pull off one of the 240 legs inside the machine? I have a dedicated 30 amp 240 breaker for my dryer and I have 10-3 with ground for the dryer. I know a lot of the washer dryer stacked units only require 120 or 240. Mine requires both right now.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-14, 09:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
I know code says I can split at the receptacle and pull my 120 off one leg.
Can you site section of NEC? A 120 volt receptacle can not be fused for more that a 20 amps. A dryer typically is 30 amps.
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-14, 05:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I have a dedicated 30 amp 240 breaker for my dryer and I have 10-3 with ground for the dryer.
Assuming your are correct and the dryer needs 240 volts, you wouldn't need 10-3 NM cable, but just 10-2 NM cable.

How many power cords come from the washer/dryer combo? What are the configurations of the plugs/plug?
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-14, 08:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
That is really strange. That model is made in several different variations. Single power cord or dual. My sister has the single 240vac model that requires 30A 240vac and a ground (3 wire).
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-14, 05:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Ray: I ment "cant". Code says you cant split at the receptacle. Amazing what one missing "t" can do to a sentence.

CausalJoe: The Washer/Dryer has 2 plugs coming from it. One is 240 three prong. the other is regular 120 three prong. Since I'm moving the dryer wiring i have to upgrade to 10-3 with ground to meet code. I will then wire the dryer with a new plug to keep up with code.

PJmax: Is it the same washer dryer combo. I think back when they were sold they could be configured how every you would like. If you wanted one plug they would just wire the 120 plug to a leg of the 240 inside the machine, I believe. I cant find any manuals with install information for this machine. I know most modern machines come configured that way.
 
  #6  
Old 05-07-14, 06:35 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
The Washer/Dryer has 2 plugs coming from it. One is 240 three prong. the other is regular 120 three prong.
240 volt 3 prong meaning 2 hots and 1 ground?

Since I'm moving the dryer wiring i have to upgrade to 10-3 with ground to meet code.
I'd next check the electrical data plate on the dryer. If it says 240 volt you still don't need 10-3 NM cable to meet the dryer's requirement or to meet code and can use 10-2 NM cable. That being said, if it is possible that someone in the future may want to use a typical stand-alone electric dryer at this new laundry location, I'd go ahead and install the 10-3 NM cable and just not use the neutral at this time.

The Washer/Dryer has 2 plugs coming from it.
I'd also install a new dedicated 20 amp, 120 volt circuit to this new laundry location.
 
  #7  
Old 05-07-14, 11:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 57
2 hots, one neutral that is tied to ground. Code states that if you move wiring you have to update it to code. The dryer doesnt require 10-3 but code says any new or moved dryer receptacles need to be run with 10-3. Its an old washer and dryer and im hoping it will last a while. They are the washers that put the maytag repair man out of business. With that said its 25-30 years old so who knows how long it will last. When it does go I may upgrade to a different dryer at the location and I would hate to have to replace the new wire i just put in. Looks like I'll just run a 120 20 amp circuit. Seems like a shame when 240 is there and this model seems to have a one plug option.
 
  #8  
Old 05-08-14, 07:08 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
2 hots, one neutral that is tied to ground.
2 hots and 1 neutral is for a 120/240 volt circuit, not a 240 volt circuit. If your dryer part of the combo requires a neutral, it isn't a 240 volt appliance, but a 120/240 volt appliance. A 240 volt appliance requires 2 hots and 1 ground.

The dryer doesnt require 10-3 but code says any new or moved dryer receptacles need to be run with 10-3.
If a neutral is required for the dryer to operate, it does require 10-3 NM cable because it's a 120/240 volt appliance. Older 120/240 volt dryer circuits did the grounding through the insulated neutral.

Looks like I'll just run a 120 20 amp circuit. Seems like a shame when 240 is there and this model seems to have a one plug option.
Yes, you definitely need the 20 amp, 120 volt circuit for the washer and a proper 120/240 volt 4-wire circuit with both an insulated neutral and separate ground terminated in a proper 4-wire receptacle (14-30 R). You'll also need to disconnect the bond between ground and neutral in the dryer and install a 4-wire cord/plug (14-30P) to match the receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'