Connecting 125kva genset to 60 hp pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-14, 12:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Connecting 125kva genset to 60 hp pump

I am going to have a pump service co provide hookup between my 60 hp submerged pump and my 125 kva genset. I am not sure what is need to do this right. I would like to have an idea what I should ask for and what to expect. I know there should be something (contactor, breaker, starter, load monitor????) but I dont know what to ask for. This will be set up with 480v 3 phase. Right now the genset is beside the well and the well has 3 conductor cable laying on the ground.
What say those who have experience doing this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-14, 06:21 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
Your pump company should provide everything you need, complete and wired except for the power connection to it. There should be some type of a control panel that I am thinking you should run your power to, where is it or where will it be? The control panel should have the starter with overloads in it. I doubt it would be right at the wellhead, but somewhere not too far off inside a building, although there are NEMA 3R raintight control panels used outdoors. You probably also need a tank with bladder to keep the pump from short cycling on pressure driectly from the wellhead. What size output breaker does the generator have? Is this a 480 volt 3-phase 3-wire generator or is it a 480/277 volt 3-phase 4-wire generator? I believe I would setup a generator panel powered only by the generator with about 12 circuits. In that panelboard I would use a 110 amp 3 pole breaker to power the control panel. Assuming it's a 480/277 volt system, I'd also set up a lighting circuit for use at night.

Three Phase Motor Data
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-14, 06:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
Sub Pump

Is this pump for irrigation? Will there also be utility power to the pump?
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-14, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 27
There is no 3PH utility power within a mile of the well, hence the genset. There is no building within a 1/4 mile. We will be using the well to put water in a 3 acre pond and later probably for an irrigation system. The well previously had a genset on it when the oil co was using the well to provide water to a drilling rig and for fracking. The oil co drilled the well and when they pulled out took the genset and control panel but left the pump. Right now there is about 15' of 3 conductor cable (may also have a green ground wire, IDR) coming out of the well seal.
There will be no pressure tank. The well will put out about 300 gal/min. We plan to put a roof over the genset but it will be about 15' from the well. I anticipate a nema enclosure for controls but was not sure what should be in the enclosure besides a contactor and breaker. I saw something in another setup called SubMonitor by Franklin. Is it worth the money, and how much money?
The genset has 480/277 3Ph 4 wire output as well as others that are switch selectable. It is a MultiQuip DCA125SSJU. It also has 120v and 240 volt outlets that are live regardless how the main output switch is set.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-14, 07:21 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
What size output breaker does the generator have?

............................................
 
  #6  
Old 05-06-14, 07:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,255
Main Circuit Breaker This three-pole, 300 amp main breaker is provided to protect the UVWO output terminals from overload.
 
  #7  
Old 05-06-14, 11:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
Sub Pump

Was this pump operated using a 125KW Genset? From what I can find it is a little undersized for a 60HP 480V 3ph pump. Looking at Franklin Pumps they list a 175KW as the minimum size genset for their 60HP. I assume this issue may be addressed by the use of a soft-start or VFD to reduce the starting current. Also is there a check valve on the system to prevent back spin. I know that on the above ground vertical shaft pumps I have worked on, there is a rached on the top of the motor to prevent back-spin. On a submersible a check valve prevents water from flowing back down the well and turning the pump in reverse. If the pump tries to start while turning in reverse it will cause problems for the pump and the genset.
 
  #8  
Old 05-07-14, 06:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 27
I believe my genset is "internally regulated". The Franklin chart recommends 75KW or 94 kva for their 60 hp pumps when using an internally regulated generator.
The genset manual says:
"The DCA-125SSJU Series Generator is equipped with the state
of the art "Open-Delta" excitation system. The open delta
system consist of an electrically independent winding wound
among stationary windings of the AC output section.
There are four connections of the open delta A, B, C and D.
During steady state loads, the power from the voltage regulator
is supplied from the parallel connections of A to B, A to D, and
C to D. These three phases of the voltage input to the voltage
regulator are then rectified and are the excitation current for the
exciter section.
When a heavy load, such as a motor starting or a short circuit
occurs, the automatic voltage regulator (AVR) switches the
configuration of the open delta to the series connection of B to
C. This has the effect of adding the voltages of each phase ot
provide higher excitation to the exciter section and thus better
voltage response during the application of heavy loads."

Also I believe the pump is installed with a check valve.
This pump was previously operated with a MultiQuip 125kva genset.
 
  #9  
Old 05-07-14, 09:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
SUB Pump

Seems like you have what you need, as CasuaJoe mentioned earlier, your pump company will have control panels and should provide you with the best option for your application. Since the motor circuit only extends a short distance from the well head, you may have to provide conduit and wire back to the control panel unless the pump company does that part of the installation. I would use conduit and wire as opposed to cable on the ground like the Oil Co did since this will be a permanent installation. Most irrigation installations have power to a backboard where the equipment is mounted using NEMA-3R enclosures. The backboard may have a small roof cover to reduce the direct sun exposure on the equipment (control panel, GFCI receptacle, Light Switch and area light), at least in our area where it gets quite hot in the summer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes