Furnace Power Consumption

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-07-14, 09:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
Furnace Power Consumption

Gas Furnace is wired on a 15A breaker with about 75' of #14.

I was surprised to see that inside the unit I was only measuring about 3.5A with the blower running. How much more (if much at all) can be expected to be drawing on that circuit?

Figuring there is a low voltage tranny that controls the circuit board (assuming gas valve is low voltage too) I would assume its not very much.

I also assume the starting amperage of the blower is much closer to that 15A threshold.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-07-14, 10:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The furnace should be a dedicated circuit. There should be no additional draw.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-14, 11:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
The furnace should be a dedicated circuit. There should be no additional draw.
well of course. I was referring to the furnace's additional power draw.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-14, 02:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
During the ignition cycle, using a hot surface ignitor, my furnace draws around 8 to 10 amperes. Once lit, the furnace draws about 3-4 amperes when operating on the first stage. Second stage may be another 1/2 to 2 amperes due mostly to the increased speed of the circulation blower. I DO have an ECM variable speed blower so that may make a small difference.

The above figures are from memory, it has been a few years since I checked the amperage draw. I DO presently have my Kill-A-Watt meter connected in case you are interested in the average power usage of my furnace over the last few weeks.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-14, 10:10 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
My furnace is oil fired and draws about 7A with the oil burner unit as well as both circulating pumps on. It runs fine on a 1500W inverter and deep cycle battery. I don't know much about gas furnaces, but I know the oil furnaces ignite the oil with a few KV arc. That transformer only uses a few watts.
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-14, 08:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
I forgot about the HSI... its like a mini toaster. That is the highest draw on the furnace circuit then... not the blower.... unless there is significant inrush current there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes