40amp subpanel from main service disconnect?


  #1  
Old 05-07-14, 06:46 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
40amp subpanel from main service disconnect?

Hi everyone

I would like to know if it is possible to add an extra 40 Amp panel in the basement just for receptacles?
Details goes like this.., This is a 2 stories old church that only have some lights and cero receptacles in the basement.The receptacles will be use to connect a humidifier and some other small appliances when needed, like a drill or circular saw. In the basement is the meter and next to it a 400 amps single phase Main service disconnect (very old box), from there the 3 inches pipes run inside the ceiling and wall to a 100 amp distribution panel in first fl., if i want to run the 40amp panel from second sub in 1st FL sub panel that would be a big hassle , and it would be a lot easy to run cables from a Main Service Disconnect panel., I know it may sound crazy , but i just wanted to know if it is possible.
I looked for an Master electrician to move the meter outside, change the main service disconnect and he was asking for $8,000 here in Brooklyn NY.

Thank you in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 05-07-14, 07:28 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Well, of course it is possible but why limit it to 40 amperes? I would install nothing less than a 100 ampere panel and maybe even a 125 amp panel but fed by a 100 ampere breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-14, 06:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Furd for your reply.
A 100 amp sub sounds fine.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: