wiring a 3 pin switch that actually has 4 pins

Old 05-07-14, 07:12 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
wiring a 3 pin switch that actually has 4 pins

hi,

I ordered a 3 pin light switch to install on a light in my car. Now that I've received the switch I see that it has 2 regular sized spade connectors and then another 2 small connectors. How do I go about wiring this switch? Do I have go out and find smaller connectors for my wires now?Name:  2049_2.jpg
Views: 1833
Size:  21.0 KB

I'm a total amateur and I've already caused a messed trying to wire up a 6 pin switch. I bought this switch and now am not sure what to do. Any help would be much appreciated.

Old 05-07-14, 07:38 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Normally there is a wiring diagram on the switch. Look on the other side.

Old 05-07-14, 07:58 PM
F
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
I can see a + and a - on the switch near the smaller terminals, that leads me to believe the switch has an LED internal for an indicator or locator light. If you have no need of the internal light then ignore the smaller terminals and just use the two larger terminals in series with one lead of the power supply and the load.

If you DO want the indicator then you have to observe the polarity when connecting. And yes, you DO need smaller terminals for the connection.

Old 05-07-14, 08:34 PM
J
that was quick ...thanks guys

There was no diagram on the switch.

Yes there is an LED on the the swith.
Can I just splice my hot and ground wire that I am going to use or do I have to run two separate wires for the led?

Old 05-07-14, 08:50 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post