Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can one unused 10 ga 240V line be split in to two 110v circuits (shared common)

Can one unused 10 ga 240V line be split in to two 110v circuits (shared common)


  #1  
Old 05-10-14, 09:52 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can one unused 10 ga 240V line be split in to two 110v circuits (shared common)

I'm converting a garage into a house. I don't need the 10/3 240 line for my electric heaters any more, but I DO need more 110 V cirtuit lines. Can I use the two hots from the 10/3 cable to create 2 110V hot leads AND CAN THEY BOTH USE THE ONE COMMON WIRE ?

I'm not at the box/panel, I want to use the line on the other side of the house. Everything is insulated and I don't have to run new cable all the way from the box.
 
  #2  
Old 05-10-14, 11:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Can I use the two hots from the 10/3 cable to create 2 110V hot leads AND CAN THEY BOTH USE THE ONE COMMON WIRE ?
No but you can create two 120 volt multiwire circuits with a common neutral. The breaker could not exceed 20 amps and must be either two handle tied single pole breakers or 2-pole. If the garage is detached this is the only power source that can be run to the garage and it wouldn't meet minimum code requirements for a house.
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-14, 03:01 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I'm converting a garage into a house.
You probhably need 50 or 60 amps minimum for cooking/heating a one or two room space converted from the garage (assumed attached garage), the 10-3 won't be much good for your needs.

I don't need the 10/3 240 line for my electric heaters any more
I don't know why anyone would run 10-3 to electric heaters. I suspect you have 10-2/G and not 10-3.
 
  #4  
Old 05-10-14, 03:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
A house is going to require a 100 amp minimum service per code.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-14, 08:45 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
clarification

your right, it's only 10/2 wire. I certainly don't have the opportunity to make it into 2 circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-14, 07:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
So.....is the garage attached to the house or is it detached?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: