pool pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-14, 07:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 1
pool pump

I have an intermatic sub panel sixty feet from main panel. Im replacing the pump with a haward max flow vs. The panel is feed by a dual pole thirty in the main panel. The subpanel has dual pole twenty and a single 15 amp the person who installed it wired the pool light and spa light of a gfci outlet in the side of the sub panel. Im going to lose the outlet and run a dual 15 gfci for the pump and a single 15 amp gfci for the lights. the equipment ground bar is bonded to the subpanel and the netural grounding bar floats. so they ran netural and ground from subpanel back to main panel the problem is the main panel shares netural and ground, netural does not float. isnt that completeing a circuit and if there was a problem it would come right back to the sub panel. should I brake ground to the sub panel and install a grounding rod at the sub panel. I also want to install a surge protection breaker. Thank you steven
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-14, 09:30 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
Welcome to the forums!

I am not quite sure what you mean by "if there was a problem it would come right back to the sub panel" Do not change your installation, it is correct. The ground and neutral are connected to the same bus in the main panel. The ground wire does not carry current except during a fault. Ground rods are only for high voltage events like lightning. There is no problem with installing the TVSS breaker in your panel.

If you want, you can certainly install a ground rod at the sub panel in addition to the ground going back to your main panel. The GEC would connect to the ground bar of the sub panel.
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-14, 09:36 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
As long as there is no disconnect before the main breaker in your main panel (ie: a separate service disconnect or a breaker in the meter enclosure), then the neutral and ground must be bonded there. The neutral and ground are supposed to be bonded in the FIRST disconnect - and nowhere else. In most cases the first disconnect IS the main panel, so you will see neutrals and grounds all connected there. It will not cause faults to neutral/ground to flow back to the subpanel.

So at the subpanel it is correct. The neutral and ground are supposed to separated.. DO NOT break the ground.

As for the separate grounding rod, one is only required if the subpanel is in a completely detached building. If it is in an attached garage - or on the outside of the main structure, then no separate rod is required. If it's in a detached garage or pumphouse, then you install a ground rod IN ADDITION TO the ground wire that is already there.
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-14, 06:58 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
Just as a note, the ground rod requirement in a detached building was added, IIRC, in 2008. Your installation was likely 100% correct at the time it was installed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes