Help wiring


  #1  
Old 05-12-14, 08:46 PM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help wiring

Hello everyone I installed a sub panel in my workshop along with lights and fans I need wiring them I have 1/2 conduit going From the subpanel to the switch location then I have another 1/2 conduit stubbing up to a J box their I have a 90 going down to outlet and another one going to the first fixture then to a can and to another fixture then to the last fan , I plan on having the outlet on a 20 amp breaker and having the lights and fans on a 15 amp breaker here's a picture thanks[ATTACH=CONFIG]31595[/ATTACH]

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  24.1 KB
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 05-12-14 at 09:35 PM. Reason: Add enlarged image.
  #2  
Old 05-12-14, 09:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
What are your questions? I don't see them in your post.
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-14, 06:28 PM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Which way should I wire the fixtures and fans
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-14, 06:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Use THHN #14 for the lights and #12 THHN for the receptacles. You can run both in the same conduit. Many electricians would also suggest running a ground wire even though the conduit serves that purpose also. When you run two circuits in the same conduit you can use one ground wire for both circuits. The ground wire is sized to the higher amperage circuit so in conduits that have both circuits use #12. In #14 only runs #14 ground.
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-14, 06:17 AM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So I would run two white two black and one green....
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-14, 08:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
So I would run two white two black and one green
Yes, with the green sized to the highest amp circuit. At each junction box the green must be pigtailed to the junction box.
 
  #7  
Old 05-14-14, 07:27 PM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok thanks. And to wire the switch To the lights and fans I just connect The blacks to blacks whites to whites and ground to switch box/ junction box / fixture correct
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: