Turn on 3ph motor with relay

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-13-14, 01:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Turn on 3ph motor with relay

I have a 3ph vacuum system and have to walk across the factory to turn it on and off when I turn on the sander.

I would like to have something like an Air Conditioner relay which I could control with a simple on and off switch at the sander.

Now it has a electrical box and an on/off switch about a foot below the electrical box.

How would be the easiest way to turn it on without having to run the electrical wire 200 ft to the sander?.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-14, 04:01 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
SVAT Wireless Remote Control Power Outlet Outdoor On/Off Switch with 100 ft. Range-WRC101 at The Home Depot

That one is rated for 100 feet. I don't know where you can find a remote for more than that.
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-14, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Welcome to the forums.

You;d need a three pole contactor like in the following link....
| Definite Purpose Contactors, DPA Series, 30 Amp, 3 Pole, Coil 24VAC | B713736 - Global Industrial

A 24vac heating/cooling transformer and a switch of your choosing. You could run any type of two conductor low voltage wire between the contactor and the switch.
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-14, 08:01 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
The one Pulpo posted is not for three phase, and I can't think of a good way to wire it to a three pole contactor even if it had a 120 volt coil.

PJmax's suggestion of a contactor and transformer is similar to a job I did for a 3 phase, 480 volt dust collector. I had to install an enclosure for the relay, transformer, and any wiring. All the wiring inside the enclosure needs to be rated for 240 volts or more. Also if there is overload protection in the start/stop station it needs to remain in the circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 05-13-14, 08:05 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
Grainger is the best source I have ever found for variety when it comes to single and 3-phase contactors with various amperage ratings and many different coil voltages. Check with them to see what they have. A contactor is just a relay. What voltage and amperage is your 3-phase circuit? I don't see this as a very difficult thing to do.
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-14, 01:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Since the original poster seems to have joined, posted the question, logged off in a very short period of time I suspect he will not return. I hope he makes a liar out of me.

This statement from the original post is the question.
How would be the easiest way to turn it on without having to run the electrical wire 200 ft to the sander?. (Emphasis mine)
The ONLY way to do this without running wiring is to use a radio control. Most consumer grade low cost radio controls are limited to about fifty feet under "normal" conditions although they will often be advertised as having a longer range. (Trust me, I have experimented with many.) I have seen, and bought at least one, off of Ebay (shipped from Asia) that has at least a three hundred foot range as I can activate it with the relay in my house and the transmitter at the entrance (or even before) to my cul-de-sac. The prices are quite reasonable, in the $20 to $30 range mostly. Whether or not you need a one or two channel model would depend upon how the magnetic starter for the exhauster is configured. If it is a standard low-voltage release model (two momentary pushbuttons for start and stop) then a two channel would be easiest.

If Ark-Bigfoot posts back with details of the mag starter and preferably some pictures I can go into more detail.
 
  #7  
Old 05-14-14, 06:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
The reason I logged off was to take care of a rain leak since it going to rain for 2 more days.

I will get more information as to volts and amps and open up the ele box and take pictures.

I greatly appreciate everyone's thoughts as to how to resolve my issue.

Cheers
 
  #8  
Old 05-16-14, 08:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks guys,

I went to the scrap metal yard and found several scrap 220 volt air conditioners which had the relay I needed and only cost $5. Installed and works great.
 
  #9  
Old 05-17-14, 12:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Good job Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes