branching vs chaining outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-15-14, 09:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
branching vs chaining outlets

I need to run 3 outlets in my unfinished basement, I will tap into an existing line with only one outlet on it and run towards my intended direction. The layout plan is in the form of a "T" so it will be more practical to BRANCH rather than CHAIN the outlets. Is it acceptable to run the power wire to a junction box and pigtail all the wires (4 wire pigtail) and than run the 3 branch lines out from there?

thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-15-14, 10:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
NO! Absolutely not! Never!

Okay, I lied, what you propose is perfectly fine.
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-14, 10:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,036
With daisy-chaining you don't have as many issues with box fill. Branching out (hub-and-spoke) methods usually overload a standard switch/receptacle box. If your junction box is a 1900 (4x4) you should be good, though.
 
  #4  
Old 05-15-14, 10:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
you made me nervous for a moment!

i ask because adhering to a traditional "chaining" pattern will be a waste of unnecessary wire given the layout

thanks
 
  #5  
Old 05-15-14, 10:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,100
Example of box fill (U.S.):

One 12/2 power cable and three (12/2) branches continuing: 8 conductors equals 8 points. One receptacle unit (duplex or round single) in the box, 2 points. All the ground wires (equipment grounding conductors) 1 point. Any or all the cable clamps or fingers protruding into the box, 1 point. Pigtails (short lengths wholly within the box) e.g. to reach the receptacle, 0 points each. Wire nuts, 0 points each. Total of 12 points, 2-1/4 cubic inches per point equals a minimum box size of 27 ci.
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-14, 09:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
so a 4"x4"x2.25" square box = 36ci correct?
my junction box would be stand alone, hub plus 3 spokes (4 wire pigtail)
incidentally what is the maximum number of advisable wires in a pigtail?
 
  #7  
Old 05-16-14, 09:45 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
The pigtaoils are limited by the size of the wire nut and wire sizes.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes