Safely capping power line?

Old 05-17-14, 05:51 PM
Safely capping power line?

I apologize if my terminology is off on this one. I'm far from an electrician.

We had a mother in law house in our back lot that was removed. The person who was removing it did a poor job and wound up leaving halfway through. I finished it up and got it down to the slab.

All that being said, this MIL house had power to it. There was a line from the house to a breaker box in the house. The "contractor" I had before just cut the lines and capped them, so we've got wires next to the slab that are just capped and taped. It's just an accident waiting to happen with kids and animals.

The line runs from the house, down an exterior wall on my garage, and underground to the slab where the house was.

I'd like to safely cap this line. I do not know the voltage, but I'm guessing 220v? It's shielded with three wires (IIRC), circumference about the size of a dime.

I can easily access the wire either through my attic of via a cutout on my garage wall. I'd like to pull some of the wire up, with enough slack for future use (30A for an RV plug) in the garage, and safely store it.

What would be the best, safest way to accomplish this? Kill power, cap the wires, and store it safely?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-17-14, 05:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
If you can find the end in your panel you can turn the breaker off and disconnect it.

Old 05-17-14, 09:01 PM
I thought about doing that, but would like to keep it in place for a 30A, 110v drop in my garage for an RV plug. If there is no way to safely cap the wires, then I will remove it. But in a perfect world, I'd like to keep it up there ready to be used once I finish the garage remodel this fall.

Thanks!

Old 05-17-14, 09:15 PM
Super Moderator
You don't have to cut back or physically remove anything. Just disconnect from the breaker, cap and label the ends in the box.

Old 05-17-14, 09:47 PM