Replacing dishwasher plug and correct extension cord?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-18-14, 04:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing dishwasher plug and correct extension cord?

I finally got a dishwasher put in my house but unfortunately the plug was about a foot short of the nearest outlet. So I connected the shortest extension cord to it and thought it would be fine.

Six months later I noticed that there were black smoke marks and some melting of the plug at the connection between the dishwasher plug and extension cord plug. I had an electrician friend (who has now since moved) do some other work for me and he said that the extension cord was not maybe the right amp or wattage? I can't remember which term he used. I've looked on DIY videos on Youtube on how to change plugs and I think I can do that.

My question is how do I find out what amps and gauge wire my dishwasher uses to correspond to the correct replacement plug and extension cord? Is it 15? And what type of extension cord do I use?

Thanks for the help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-18-14, 04:06 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,173
Received 91 Votes on 78 Posts
There will be a data plate somewhere on the DW with the information you need. You could also check the breaker size at the panel.

The cord should be a listed appliance cord available at a hardware or big box store.
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-14, 04:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Extension cords are for temporary use only. You need to install a receptacle for the dishwasher. Is it built-in or portable?
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-14, 08:20 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The dishwasher is portable, but...

I was checking underneath the dishwasher and noticed that the idiot who installed the dishwasher (mom's ex) could have just pulled the power cord through the pre-drilled cabinet hole and plugged it into the outlet under the sink.

I bought a replacement plug but when I stripped the wires down I got a little confused. The green grounding wire is clearly marked but the other two are not. The wires are set up in a straight line grouping of three. If you put your middle three fingers together and look at them, that is how the wires are set up. With the middle being the ground. I was expecting to see a black and white wire but no such luck.

How can I find out which wires go where? And then would this setup be okay to plug into the outlet under the sink?

Thanks in advance
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-14, 08:32 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it a flat cable or round cable? If it is a flat cable, your ribbed conductor is your neutral, which goes to the silver screw. Your smooth conductor is your hot, which goes to any screw not silver or green. (Usually brass). If it is a round cable with blue and brown conductors, the blue is your neutral and the brown is your hot. Make sure you get all of the strands and don't break any off or have strays.
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-14, 08:45 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a flat cable. Thanks to you I just noticed the ribbed and smooth sides of the cord. Thanks sooo much for that info. I'm going to give it a shot now.
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-14, 04:49 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Now What?

I replaced the plug the correct way and made sure they were nice and tight. But when I plug the cord in I get no power. When we stopped using it last it still worked fine but now nothing.

Any suggestions?
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-14, 05:40 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some times the plug / receptacle under the sink is wired with one half ( female ) hot all the time and the other half ( female ) of the plug / receptacle activated by a switch ( to turn on the garbage grinder ) .

Try moving your dishwasher plug / male cord cap to the other half of the under counter plug / receptacle .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #9  
Old 05-19-14, 09:19 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I noticed that the garbage disposal will turn on automatically if it is plugged into one side of the receptacle. So while not knowing the technical terms I figured that was how the receptacle was set up. I tried plugging the dishwasher into all four of the receptacle openings but none of them worked.

I'm just confused because the dishwasher worked the last time I unplugged it. It was obviously unsafe with the burnt plugs so I stopped using it. I put the new plug on and now it doesn't work. Granted, it's been like 8 months but nobody has touched the machine in that time.
 
  #10  
Old 05-19-14, 10:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Try a lamp in the receptacle you are using for the dish washer.
 
  #11  
Old 05-20-14, 12:44 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A lamp works....

Maybe I'll take the plug apart and clamp them down again? I was very methodical and made sure it was down correctly but that's all I can think of doing with my limited knowledge.
 
  #12  
Old 05-20-14, 01:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Big box sells cord sets already made up, plug molded on the end. If you don't see one in the electrical isle look by the garbage disposals.

Examples: GE 6 ft. 3-Prong Cord for Built-In Dishwashers-WX09X70910DS at The Home Depot

Name:  a60f8713-0b0e-4b64-8c85-f5e576bc8410_400.jpg
Views: 11352
Size:  12.6 KB
 
  #13  
Old 05-20-14, 05:21 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was looking at Youtube videos about how to replace a whole power cord. I then went to look at the junction box underneath the dishwasher and pulled one of the wire nuts off to see if maybe the wires weren't connected. I stupidly forgot to pull the new plug out of the receptacle and when I touched the two wires at the box I got shocked.

I know I'm a moron for not unplugging the dishwasher first but there is definitely power going through the plug.

Anything else I should look for?
 
  #14  
Old 05-20-14, 05:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
There are to components to power. You could get shocked even if you have an open neutral.
 
  #15  
Old 05-20-14, 05:52 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I should still replace the power cord?
 
  #16  
Old 05-20-14, 06:35 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,113
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Do you have a multimeter and know how to use it? If so, you can CAREFULLY check the bare ends that connect to the DW with the plug in the socket.
 
  #17  
Old 05-21-14, 06:48 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Best I remember , they make the appliance cords in 10' or 12' lengths ?

If in doubt , replace it , not a lot of $$$ . I would measure how long it needs to be & get one a few feet longer than that and you should be good to go . Provided you do not have other issues .

But this time , unplug it first ! :-(

God bless
Wyr
 
  #18  
Old 05-21-14, 10:04 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,173
Received 91 Votes on 78 Posts
Sorry Wyrtwister but the are strict conditions for the use of a cord on a DW including maximum length and needing to be a listed component. A regular extension cord cannot be used or modified by cutting and used on the DW.
 
  #19  
Old 05-21-14, 12:41 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The replacement power cords are cheap so I'll just do that. I only have a Lowe's near me and they're out of stock right now so I'll have to order one online. Hopefully that solves the problem.

Thanks everyone
 
  #20  
Old 05-22-14, 01:57 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maybe I did not speak clearly or accurately . :-(

I was not referring to an extension cord . I was talking about an appliance cord . Such as the 6' cord ray2047 illustrated . But commenting , appliance cords can be purchased in 10' or 12' lengths ( best I remember ) , if the OP needed longer than 6' .

They would be UL listed for appliances .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #21  
Old 05-22-14, 10:23 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,173
Received 91 Votes on 78 Posts
A dishwasher cord length is restricted to no more than 4' from the rear face of the appliance and no less than 3'. Article 422.16(B)(2).
 
  #22  
Old 05-23-14, 06:57 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I looked it up and you are correct .

Thank you for correcting my error . :-)

The OP would have to install a receptacle close enough that the 3 - 4 foot appliance cord would work .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #23  
Old 05-23-14, 07:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
But this is a portable not a fixed in place. It could be argued the wording applies to a fixed in place dishwasher.
(4) The receptacle shall be located in the space occupied
by the appliance or adjacent thereto.
This being a portable has no fixed space. My not AHJ recommendation would be to match the original length. Given the cord if it comes from the bottom of the portable could not reach a receptacle with just four feet (counter height + counter depth + receptacle distance above counter) so that would be be an unreasonable requirement.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-24-14 at 09:45 AM.
  #24  
Old 05-24-14, 04:27 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I missed the part about it being a portable DW . Best I remember , they come with a long cord ?

God bless
Wyr
 
  #25  
Old 05-24-14, 09:47 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Post #4: "The dishwasher is portable"
 
  #26  
Old 05-25-14, 06:06 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would have been nice if he had said that in post # 1 . :-)

Of course , I should have read it more closely , also . :-(

Thanks , :-)

God bless
Wyr
 
  #27  
Old 05-25-14, 07:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,173
Received 91 Votes on 78 Posts
I missed or did not remember that either. Not very common in my experience.
 
  #28  
Old 05-29-14, 07:08 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help!!

The power cord came in the mail today and the dishwasher finally works!! Now I don't have to do an hour and a half of dishes everday after I come home from school. Thanks for all your guys help I was completely lost when I started this.
 
  #29  
Old 05-29-14, 07:18 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,173
Received 91 Votes on 78 Posts
Glad it all worked out. Thanks for the feedback.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: