Wiring a subpanel


  #1  
Old 05-19-14, 11:27 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a subpanel

I have a 2 family house converted to 1 family. It has 2 electric meters and 2 100A main panels. I wonder if I can wire one of the panels as a subpanel, turn off main breaker on the subpanel and contact my provider to remove 1 meter. House is in New York City.
 
  #2  
Old 05-19-14, 12:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
It's is possible but you can't do it. New York City requires that work be done by a master Electrician.
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-14, 12:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,398
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
What is the reason to have only one meter? You pay for both anyway correct?
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-14, 12:39 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The reason is to pay only 1 bill. Besides usage they charge delivery and other fees.
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-14, 12:46 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,398
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
If you were to remove one meter and make one panel a sub panel off the other panel, you would only have one 100 amp service rather then two 100 amp services.

If your are allowed to do electrical work in NY, I would recommend eliminating one meter. This could be as easy as installing double lugs in the meter you want to keep and feeding both panels off that meter socket, or as complex having to replace the entire meter sequence. Power company around here requires a minimum 200 amp meter socket with a bypass handle. Somebody will need to determine if your current meter socket is still approved or needs to be changed.
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-14, 02:35 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
Tolyn's idea of a meter base that had dual downstream lugs is the only one that really makes any sense. It IS dependent upon the size of the service drop and the meter itself so depending upon the configuration of the original service this may require a fair amount of work or it could possibly be relatively inexpensive.

Post a few pictures of the current installation for a better answer.
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-14, 03:10 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your suggestions. I will probably get a few quotes from master electricians and discuss various options. With all the permits / parts / labor may not be worth doing anything.
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-14, 07:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 188 Upvotes on 168 Posts
I have a 2 family house converted to 1 family. It has 2 electric meters and 2 100A main panels.
I am surprised converting the electric service to one meter wasn't required when the conversion to a 1 family house was done. Was that project completed with plans, permits and inspections?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: