Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Connecting light switches to one source of power, pigtails?

Connecting light switches to one source of power, pigtails?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-14, 07:05 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting light switches to one source of power, pigtails?

Name:  20140519_162047.jpg
Views: 2701
Size:  32.3 KB

So I am installing over some old work, the old box was damaged and had to be removed.

I installed a 3 gang old work box, and it fits in nicely. I didn't record which wires went where, I have a general idea.

In that picture there is one source of power that all the wires need to be hooked to.

My question is do I need to create a pigtail, if so do I connect one specific wire, or do I do it for all three? Basically I am just asking what to do in this scenario, where there is one source and many others that need to connect to it?
 
  #2  
Old 05-19-14, 08:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I'd wire it the same as before with the old box.
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-14, 08:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,771
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
You're talking about one hot wire being connected to all three switches.
Yes.... take three short pieces of wire and connect them to the hot line coming in. Push splice in back of box and leave the three tails coming out at the three switch locations.

Makes for a neater connection method.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-14, 09:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post

@casualjoe this is a project that was put off for a while and I forgot how it was previously wired.

@PJmax sounds good, but could you paint a better picture? Great answer but when I get back to it tomorrow I would like to know exactly what to do.

"leave the three tails coming out at the three switch locations."

I am not 100% clear on that. So on the hot wire, there is a black, white, and all copper wire. On the other wire sets for the switches they are black, white, and red? This is a bit confusing (mainly because of the red).

Now to your quote above, I assume the "switch locations" are the wire "set" for that specific switch (set of red,black,white). So you're saying leave three tails, one for each color (red[tail],black[tail],white[tail])? That would be a lot of wires, I couldn't fit that in there I don't think. Unless you mean each "set" should have its own tail (red,black,white[tail]?), if that's the case which wire should the tail come out of?

Basically I just need to visualize it better, I really appreciate the initial answer you've already done more that you had to, but painting a better picture would really ensure I get the job done much more smoothly!
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-14, 09:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
So on the hot wire, there is a black, white, and all copper wire
No. That is the hot cable. The hot wire is the black wire of that cable. Basic diagram. Yours may vary if one or more cables are three conductors. I see red in the box but wasn't sure if one of the load cables was 3-conductor.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 40493
Size:  31.4 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-19-14 at 10:25 PM.
  #6  
Old 05-19-14, 11:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,771
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
You originally asked about the hot wire and pigtailing. Now you're asking how to wire the entire thing. You've got a two wire cable in there and 3) three wire cables and a piece of #12 NM in your hand.

Without knowing what the switches control and if they are single pole or three way.... we would be guessing in connecting them.
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-14, 07:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
And to be clear my diagram was about pigtailing. Your picture of the box is undecipherable. Please post a picture of the box with the wiring fully displayed and labeled.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-20-14 at 01:33 PM.
  #8  
Old 05-20-14, 12:51 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay thanks guys I'll work on getting a better picture with labels, thanks so much for taking the time. I'll have it up ASAP.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: