Wiring two motion sensors in parallel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-30-14, 11:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring two motion sensors in parallel?

Can two motion sensors be wired in parallel?
I want to mount a motion sensor on each side of a garage to activate the same set of floods.
Yes, I know these use solid-state switches and not hard switches.
I just want to be sure current will not back-flow from one to the other.
I don't like fires.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-30-14, 11:27 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've seen it done before with standard 3-wire motion heads.. Whether or not it was sanctioned by the manufacturer I don't know. However I can tell you there ARE motion detectors out there with a 'slave' wire - sort of like the interconnect wire on AC smoke detectors.. So when one detects motion, any interconnected fixture turns on.
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-14, 03:32 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,823
Received 33 Votes on 29 Posts
Your plan should work as long as the heads have three wires (normally black, white, and red for the switch leg) and they are the same circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes