Puzzle - two light switches

Old 06-01-14, 05:46 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Puzzle - two light switches

I am generally competent with electrical circuits and wiring. I have wired homes. I reference wiring diagrams, etc. So, I am not a total newbie. Not an electrician, but pretty knowledgeable.

I have an old farmhouse. Need I say more? All that said, YEARS ago a light quit working. It was a junky florescent that was poorly installed (flush mounted against a drop ceiling). We do not use the room much. I finally got around to messing with it. I hated to drop the large fixture, so I decided to do the switch.

The physical switch has two switches, each single pole. As far as I know, these are the only things on the breaker; I have never found anything else. The one toggle works fine. To be clear, I turn off power at the breaker before making a change. I see that the power to the secondary switch/fixture turns off and consider it safe. This is done for each change mentioned below.

Step 1: I bought another switch and wired it identically. No change.

Step 2: Time to pull down the fixture. I attempted to pull it down normally. It did not go so well. The fixture was quite heavy and as I removed the last supprt screw, it came down faster than I thought. I did not have a chance to examine the wiring as it pulled apart on its own.

I looked at the wire nuts. One was missing (A) and I could not find it on the floor. It was a bundle of several wires without a wirenut. Hmm. I do not know of anything else running on the circuit, remember.

Two other older wirenuts were there. One was on a single wire by itself (C). Another had three wires (B). Hmm.

I should have tested at this point, but I did not. I guessed. I hooked up the fixture to wirenut A and C. No dice.

Step 3: Time to pull out the meter. I have a DVM. I put a jumper on the wire at the fixture and run that jumper down to where I can touch the switch leads.