Need help regarding amps and surge protector

Old 06-04-14, 02:55 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help regarding amps and surge protector

First of all, I have very little knowledge about things like this, but I was hoping I could get some help on a site like this instead of someplace like yahoo answers :P

Basically, in my room I have a receptacle on the wall with 2 outlets, both 3 pronged (grounded). The top outlet hasn't worked for a few years, and I'm not sure exactly why, but for whatever reason 3 pronged plugs won't fit into it. I'm guessing it will have to be replaced.

So in the bottom outlet, that's where I have everything plugged in. I use the following 12 outlet surge protector to plug everything in - Amazon.com: Belkin 12 Outlet Home/Office Surge Protector with Phone/Ethernet/Coaxial Protection and Extended Cord 4156 Joules: Electronics

Yesterday, I got a 5,000 BTU window air conditioner installed, which says it uses 3.9 amps and 446 watts. Frigidaire 5,000 BTU Window-Mounted Room Air Conditioner

So now on the surge protector I have

my gaming PC (650 watt PSU, but it would be using a lot less on average, with maybe 500-550 watts at full load)

42" TV that uses about 75 watts on full load

a PS3 (turned off since installing the air conditioner),

cable box for TV,

a nintendo 3DS,

a ~30 watt monitor

a 10 watt tablet charger

a DSL modem

the 3.9 amp/446 watt air conditioner

I know that's a lot, and the outlet is probably 15 amps since that's what standard bedroom outlets are, but I don't think I would be at anything more than 11 or so amps at full load.