Outlets & Switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-14, 12:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 73
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlets & Switches

I might sell my house and if inspected I want to be prepared if a buyer comments on it.

I have aluminum in my house and I am planning to change out outlets and switches with Alumiconn Plastic Standard Wire Connectors. Question is how big they arte and fitting into the box especially is there is power coming in and going out of that box would they fit? this and PARALLEL SPLICE UNINSULATED PRESURE CABLE CONNECTOR, Using these you need a Copalum crimper which I don't have. I understand they are expensive. I like to get anyone's take on this? the Alumicon connectors for 2=6.62 at lowes would need 25-30 (30*6.62=198.00)


These methods are as far as I know the only few ways that's approved by
Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

thanks

Based on these standards, as of the date
of this publication, CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commission) approves of
three methods for a permanent repair.4
1) Complete Replacement of Copper
Cable
2) COPALUM Method of Repair
3) Acceptable Alternative Repair
Method/AlumiConn
Connector
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-14, 02:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,978
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The cop-alum splice is a leased tool and only available to trained installers.

CO-ALR devices can be used with Al conductors.

The old Al material is brittle and breaks easily. The old boxes are small and it is hard to fit anything extra in the boxes.
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-14, 08:06 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,223
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
I agree with PCboss, the CO/ALR receptacle is the way to go and they are also available at Lowes or any other big box, expect to pay about $3 for each device. The exposed aluminum conductor has corrosion and should be abraded with 400 to 600 grit silicon carbide wet or dry paper using antioxidant as lubricant and protection. You'll still need some AlumiConn connectors for the neutrals when changing switches.
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-14, 02:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 73
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Guys, I really appreciate the ideas. I also kinda knew these boxes were a little small. so most likely will need o chage those out too.. yuk
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-14, 08:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,978
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
If you change out the boxes try to use the Smartbox that screws to the studs
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-14, 04:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 73
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok.. but why use these type?
 
  #7  
Old 06-10-14, 03:51 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,114
Received 21 Votes on 21 Posts
You may be better off leaving things alone unless you have a real problem ,are you planning on getting a permit? On the disclosure form when selling property it asks if there has been any work preformed without a permit.
Just a thought.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 06-12-14, 04:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 73
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Geo
I remember that when we had a real estate person come through...
sometimes best thing to do is do nothing...

thanks..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: