Wiring a subpanel

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-10-14, 06:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a subpanel

Ok I am looking to run some electrical out to my garage. It is detached so I will need thwn/thhn, conduit, etc. I will be running #10 wire.

Ive posted before on this a while back to get an idea of what i would need and costs. I was told to run wiring from my Main Panel (house) to the garage subpanel. I was told to use either a 60 or 100amp breaker for feed to the subpanel, and connect a ground bar. The panel/wiring would handle up to 30amp breakers.

First question, is what is the difference between the 60 and 100amp breakers in the sub panel?
Second, if I am running red,white,black as #10 wire can I run the ground as #10 or would it need to be #8?
Will the #10 handle 30 amp breakers?

This wiring will be for multiple outlets in my garage to run fluorescent lighting fixtures and power a number of tools- More than likely one tool will be powered at a time only, but lets says I have a grinder and a 120v welder going, will it handle it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-14, 08:00 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
What is the full load amps of the welder and the duty cycle?
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-14, 10:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,984
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The 60 amp breaker will act as the disconnect for the sub and will need a backfed retention device. You will buy a panel and a breaker. You can buy a panel with a 100 amp main breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: