Running a Sub Panel to attached garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-11-14, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running a Sub Panel to attached garage

Running a Sub Panel to attached garage.
Please check my Work before I begin. I appreciate any help or advice.
I have two free Spaces on my Square D Main Panel. I plan on adding a 60amp breaker for my sub Panel.
The Sub Panel I have is a Square D 12 Circuit 6 Space 100amp Main Lug center. (I Plan on labeling this on the front and at the main it can only be used for a 60 amp service. Model number is QO612L 100SCP.
I am using 33-ft 6-3 Indoor Non-Metallic Wire)
Item #: 294914 | Model #: 63950032 from Lowes. My actual Run will be 33 Total.

From the Main Panel ( See Picture) I will have to relocate one of my breakers to the opposite side. So I can fit my 60amp square D (QO260)

***My First question is my Main Panel has the Neutral busbar and the Ground Busbar together. When connecting the Sub Panel I understand the Neutral and Ground need to be separate. From My main panel would I attach the Neutral to one side and the ground to the other, or can they be on the same side. Please advise?

I Also Purchased Two Large Lugs so I can attach the #6 wire to my existing Ground and Nutrual /bar on the Main Panel.

***My Next question is this, I am located in Ohio, Does anyone know if I have to run conduit from my main to the sub. The Main is located in an unfinished part of my basement- My Plan was to run the 6-3 from the main and staple to the rafters in all the appropriate places required by code. When it enters the garage it will come in to a 90deg 1 piece of conduit straight up to the sub panel in 1 conduit all with the appropriate connectors. Main question is it ok for no conduit before it comes into the garage and run in 1 metal when it enters the garage up to the Panel.


I have a dedicated circuit in the garage for lighting on the main panel,
Currently have 1 240 tablesaw everything else is standard 120v
I will never have more than one 240 running at the same time.
2nd picture is my existing panel, 1st picture is how I plan to setup the sub panel.

Fyi, I Havent done electrical for several years, My Cousin is coming up to help over the weekend, He is a journeyman and knows much much more than me, I have gotten the above info from the net and doing research. I just wanted to have my ducts in a row before he arrives. Everything will be shut off and still given the utmost respect. Thank you in advance.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-11-14, 04:55 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,963
Received 34 Votes on 29 Posts
The neutrals and grounds can go on any open holes in your service panel. You do not need the lugs you bought. #6 will fit in the holes.

A conduit sleeve should be allowed.
 
  #3  
Old 06-11-14, 04:57 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,978
Received 60 Votes on 53 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

From My main panel would I attach the Neutral to one side and the ground to the other, or can they be on the same side. Please advise?
They can be connected to the same side, just not the same hole. Neutrals are allowed one per hole, grounds can be two, of the same size, per hole.

Main question is it ok for no conduit before it comes into the garage and run in 1 metal when it enters the garage up to the Panel.
You will have to check with your local inspector. Some places it is allowed, others it is not.
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-14, 06:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,106
Received 30 Votes on 24 Posts
The Main is located in an unfinished part of my basement- My Plan was to run the 6-3 from the main and staple to the rafters in all the appropriate places required by code
I would recommend drilling the floor joists and running the NM cable through the bored holes.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: