Tamper Proof Plugs


  #1  
Old 06-12-14, 06:41 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,913
Received 27 Upvotes on 21 Posts
Tamper Proof Plugs

Are tamper proof plugs code now? I'm about to buy a few boxes of the non-tamper proof type and don't want to fail inspection. I would think the non-tamper are okay if the big box stores sell them.
 
  #2  
Old 06-12-14, 06:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,582
Received 3,878 Upvotes on 3,476 Posts
Do you mean tamper resistant receptacles ?

They are required by code in most new wiring.

If this is new work... like a new addition.... use tamper resistant receptacles.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-14, 07:02 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,913
Received 27 Upvotes on 21 Posts
Dang it. Okay. It's a newly finished basement. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-14, 05:47 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,056
Received 159 Upvotes on 145 Posts
It's not up to the big box stores to enforce the the code.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-14, 06:10 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 183 Upvotes on 165 Posts
All codes are local. When my area adopted the 2008 NEC it was with a list of amendments. One amendment eliminated the tamper resistant receptacle requirement because of the added cost to a new home during a major recession.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-14, 09:08 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 193 Upvotes on 169 Posts
The NEC requires that TR, GFI or AFCI be used if it would be required in new work when replacing devices.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: