Tamper Proof Plugs

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-12-14, 06:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,535
Tamper Proof Plugs

Are tamper proof plugs code now? I'm about to buy a few boxes of the non-tamper proof type and don't want to fail inspection. I would think the non-tamper are okay if the big box stores sell them.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-14, 06:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,277
Do you mean tamper resistant receptacles ?

They are required by code in most new wiring.

If this is new work... like a new addition.... use tamper resistant receptacles.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-14, 07:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,535
Dang it. Okay. It's a newly finished basement. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-14, 05:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,317
It's not up to the big box stores to enforce the the code.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-14, 06:10 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
All codes are local. When my area adopted the 2008 NEC it was with a list of amendments. One amendment eliminated the tamper resistant receptacle requirement because of the added cost to a new home during a major recession.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-14, 09:08 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
The NEC requires that TR, GFI or AFCI be used if it would be required in new work when replacing devices.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes