adding a sub panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-15-14, 07:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding a sub panel

A am adding a sub panel for a laundry room. There will be a washer, dryer, hot water heater, 1 light and 5 outlets. What size wire do I need to run from 55 feet to main panel?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-15-14, 08:11 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,978
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Are these loads already existing in the main panel?

I would add the heavy loads in the main panel.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-14, 12:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Presuming the Feeder Wiring Method will be non-metallic cable , you have a choice between a cable with 100 amp conductors and a cable with 60 amp conductors. It's as much labor to run a 100 amp Feeder as it is to run a 60 amp Feeder ,and either choice requires the same number and types of Circuit-Breakers, the only difference the ampere rating of the 2-pole CB at the Service.

So base your choice on the cost-difference between 55 ft of 60 amp cable and 55 ft of 100 amp cable.
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-14, 01:32 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,779
Received 34 Votes on 33 Posts
Personally, I agree with PCBoss. Heavier loads are better coming out of the main panel and to run 3 or 4 circuits, I'd rather just run them separately. Cost-wise for 55', a 10/2, 10/3, 12/2 and 14/2 is probably cheaper than a whole subpanel setup. If it's a pretty straight shot, I'd also consider running a conduit and pulling single wires for simplicity.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: