GFCI plug into GFCI receptacle ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-17-14, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 446
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
GFCI plug into GFCI receptacle ?

I was at a friend's house, when his wife returned from shopping with a new hair drier that had a plug with a built in GFCI. My friend said that it wouldn't work, because the GFCIs would be "doubled up"... (me:huh?)
She plugged the drier in to the GFCI receptacle, and it worked. (I was not surprised, as I have the same situation at home, and it has worked without difficulty. )
But that got me thinking: is the "doubled up" GFCI in any way a safety issue?
Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-14, 10:15 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The RCD plug serves a different purpose then the house GFCI. The cord has a metal mesh embedded in the outer covering. Primarily it detects faults in the insulation of the two conductors embedded in the sheath. This was done more to prevent fires from shorted wires than personal safety.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-17-14 at 11:30 AM.
  #3  
Old 06-17-14, 10:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,978
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
That is a leakage current detector interrupter, not a GFI.
 
  #4  
Old 06-17-14, 10:23 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
They use hair dryers like that all the time in motels and hotels, and those are all GFCI receptacles.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: