Converting outdoor switches to indoor/outdoor 3-way

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-19-14, 12:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Converting outdoor switches to indoor/outdoor 3-way

All-

I've got two switches on the outside of the house (housed in outdoor-rated boxes mounted on the wall and fed by wall-mounted conduit)- one controls pool lights (2x500W), other controls a single overhead area light (500W). I want to convert them to 3-way with an additional two switches immediately on the inside of the house. So I'll replace the switches outside to 3-way, add in two 3-way switches in the wall on the inside of the house and wire them up.

Question- does the wiring need to be inside conduit to make that 6-8 inch run through the wall? All the connections will be made inside boxes.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-19-14, 06:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,231
Question- does the wiring need to be inside conduit to make that 6-8 inch run through the wall?
No.... not at all.

I'll tell you how I would handle that. You'll need to pull the box from the wall and maybe a pipe strap or two because you are going to need to unscrew a knockout from the back of the weatherproof box and to drill a hole thru the house. I would use a twin romex connector on the back of the weatherproof box. The hole thru the house will need to be large enough to handle a twin connecter. Use two short pieces of 12-3 or 14-3 romex to connect the boxes.

Be sure to silicone the hole around the connector as well as the top and two sides of the weatherproof box to keep water out of the wall.
 
  #3  
Old 06-19-14, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
PJ- that is fantastic information- appreciate it!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes