X10 XPS2 Switch Failure on Swimming Pool Waterfall Pump??

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-21-14, 11:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Exclamation X10 XPS2 Switch Failure on Swimming Pool Waterfall Pump??

My variable speed waterfall pump on my swimming pool pad uses an X10 XPS2 Heavy Duty switch to turn on and off. A few weeks ago the pool company installed a new waterfall pump, and now after it worked properly a few time in now appears to be malfunctioning (shorting??). Each time I turn the switch on it makes a snapping sound and automatically switches off. If I hold the toggle switch button on it makes the snapping sound repeatedly (like a machine gun - not good for the switch or the pump no doubt) and doesn't start. No doubt there is a short somewhere in the wiring.

How do I know if its the switch or the pump that is causing the short? (FYI... when I try to turn it on now the pump has a little red warning light labeled "fault" that flashes)

Do XPS2 switches wear out over time? This one was installed 8 years ago.

Why would it only start shorting once the new pump was installed? Would it have anything to do with the fact that the old pump was single speed and the new pump is variable speed?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
-Sideshow76
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-21-14, 05:34 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Call the pool company. Tell them to fix it. They should stand behind their work.
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-14, 09:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 10
There's some complications with that relationship that makes their help not an option. Thus I need the help/guidance of this site.

Thanks
Sideshow76
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-14, 09:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Welcome to the forums.

Do XPS2 switches wear out over time? This one was installed 8 years ago.
Sure.... like anything else.

It's possible that the relay was badly arced and the new larger pump put more of a load on it causing the relay to fail. The switch itself is rated at 240vac 20A. Unless they put a massive pump on the switch I wouldn't think it was their fault. I would say natural failure.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'