Shower pump wiring - very old Stuart Turner RG50

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-14, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shower pump wiring - very old Stuart Turner RG50

Would really appreciate some assistance in wiring up an old single feed shower pump - Stuart Turner RG50

Stripped it out of a renovation property and didn't pay any attention to how it was wired in, my bad!

The flowswitch is attached and connected, no worries there

I have 2 cables going in - one 3 core round containing standard live neutral earth and then a flat 4 core containing red, yellow and blue plus bare copper earth

I remember that the pump was switched but not much else, can anyone help me wire this up please as i'm at a loss

I am presuming that the round 3 core is the power supply and the flat 4 core is for the switch - perhaps it's blue common - red L1 - yellow L2 - earth

Any help most gratefully received

Thanks Jon
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-14, 10:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On closer inspection the yellow wire connects up to the blue wire from the flowswitch

This is what's confusing me!
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-14, 10:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,159
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
Welcome to the forums from overseas

It sounds like you have the power wire identified but the switch is a mystery. Unfortunately without something more to go on..... we can't give you much help with the switch wiring. It would just be a guess. Maybe the switch housing comes apart and you can shoot us a picture or maybe there is some information on the switch ?

Do you have a VOM (volt ohmmeter) for testing ?

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-14, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pics

Name:  IMG_0023.jpg
Views: 429
Size:  35.9 KBName:  IMG_0024.jpg
Views: 526
Size:  33.4 KB

I hope these help, very sure there wasnt any other control unit attached just an external on/off switch

I'm sorry I don't have a voltmeter, have a testing wand that detects live wires but thats it, sorry

Thanks for any help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: