What to do with old Ground Rod?


  #1  
Old 06-25-14, 01:11 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What to do with old Ground Rod?

Had new service put in. The old galvanized rod was about a 1' away from the new one. Electricians just left it in place. I needed to do landscaping so I mearly chopped it off at ground level with a sawzall. Is that sufficient or does it need to be totally removed?
 
  #2  
Old 06-25-14, 01:30 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I suggest you "Bond" the old GR to the new GR with a bare stranded copper conductor. The Bonding " Jumper and the clamps that bond the conductor to the GR's can be implaced beneath to soil-surface.

The "objective" is to reduce the impedance of the Grounding path; the more metallic Grounding surface in contact with the earth at the depth of moist soil , the better.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-14, 01:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does having an unbonded rod so close effect the resistance to earth of my new rod? Is it necessary to remove or bond for this reason?

My reasoning not bonding it was that the old one is galvanized, surely rusted out I imagine after 60 years in service. I doubt its technically "compliant" as a ground rod anyhow.

Also a friend told me some AHJ's don't want two rods despite what it says in the NEC (local codes)... not saying that's an issue here but might be a concern to someone if you simply say 'bond the two'.....
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-14, 02:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
You can abandon the old rod as is. It it too close to the new rod to add any additional benefit as it is within the sphere of influence.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: