Guitar Amp Fuse

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-14, 07:09 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Guitar Amp Fuse

I have a 1965 Fender Amp.
Back panel calls for 2.5A Slo-Blo Fuse.
I replaced it with a 250Volt 2.5A Fuse (Slo-Blo), that's all I could find.

Is this OK? I don't want any chance of this thing frying.

Thanks.
(And yes, it is loud)

Edit: Also, should I be concerned of why the fuse blew? It hasn't blown a fuse in many years.
 

Last edited by Handyone; 06-25-14 at 07:31 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-14, 07:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It is fine for the fuse to be of a higher voltage. Sometimes fuses just blow from age. The fuse heats and cools expanding and contracting causing metal fatigue over the years.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-14, 11:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,565
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
You may have one or several power supply capacitors that are drying out. They can cause excessive hum and can cause the fuse to blow on turn-on due to lower than normal resistances.

A shorting tube filament can also cause a fuse to blow.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-25-14 at 11:49 PM. Reason: added additional info
  #4  
Old 06-26-14, 05:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A vintage blackface Twin, perhaps? Mmmm!

If you haven't done it recently, change the tubes. And, like PJ said, you need to have that amp looked at for cap issues. You don't want to continue to use it if there is a problem because the transformer could become damaged. Once that happens it's a done deal.
 
  #5  
Old 06-26-14, 08:35 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A vintage blackface Twin, perhaps? Mmmm!

If you haven't done it recently, change the tubes. And, like PJ said, you need to have that amp looked at for cap issues. You don't want to continue to use it if there is a problem because the transformer could become damaged. Once that happens it's a done deal.
It's Vintage Blackface "Showman" Head with 4 x 12 Cab.

I'll change the tubes, they're expensive, (8 tubes), but it will also improve the sound.

Nothing like new tubes. If it does need capacitors, do they make "vintage" style, (Like Huge Ones)?? Or would it be repaired with modern components??

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 06-26-14, 09:04 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For You Amp Fans, Just a note:

The transformer is important. Fender doesn't have records of serial numbers for early amplifiers. They do have serial numbers of transformers for some reason and this is how you would authenticate the year manufactured.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-14, 10:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,565
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
Nice amp.

There were a select few, or now maybe one place that could offer you a replacement or custom wound transformer.

They still make large style electrolytic capacitors.
 
  #8  
Old 06-26-14, 10:50 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Guys,

After 50 years, It could use some maintenance. I wish Cell Phones had 8 tubes, the sound quality would be great.
 
  #9  
Old 06-27-14, 05:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure, you could get a custom wound replacement transformer, but it wouldn't have the same tone as the 50 year old broken-in original. I would love to have that amp -- I'm playing in a Chicago tribute band.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: