Running "romex" thru studs ?


  #1  
Old 06-26-14, 02:03 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: north dakota
Posts: 170
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running "romex" thru studs ?

I have the drywall off downstairs doing drywall repair.
There is 14/2 romex (I'll call it romex) thru the studs going to the elec outlets. Each non-loadbearing stud has about a 5/8 hole thru which this romex runs.
I had a 1500W elec baseboard heater attached to that wall with the 12/2 inside a 3ft long conduit from the corner of the room to the heater.
I'd like to put the 12/2 wiring behind the drywall while I have the chance.

Can I run the 12/2 thru the same hole in the studs with the 14/2, or do I need to drill a separate hole for this 12/2 wiring?
SteveS
 
  #2  
Old 06-26-14, 02:14 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
No expert, but the holes sound too small. I'd drill another hole about 3/4" in diameter about 1 inch above or below the old one.

That gives you plenty of room to pull and gives 1 3/8" of wood and your 1/2" of sheetrock so 1 1/4" screws won't come close.

You'll need a right angle drill or at least a rt angle adapter most likely, if your studs are 16" on center.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-14, 02:18 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
I agree the holes sound too small to add another cable to.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: