Mixing wire gauges/circuits in same box


  #1  
Old 06-26-14, 02:16 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mixing wire gauges/circuits in same box

I have a junction box in the basement that contains wires from 3 circuits. a 15a,20a and a 30a. Is it bad practice to have mixed gauges (or multiple circuits for that matter) in the same junction box?
 

Last edited by pcboss; 06-26-14 at 02:44 PM.
  #2  
Old 06-26-14, 02:52 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,057
Received 326 Votes on 280 Posts
Nope. It is done all the time and is A-OK. In commercial jobs we have installed j-boxes, and seen others installed, that have 30+ circuits in them.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-14, 02:52 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
Mixed circuits are fine in the same junction box. All the grounds need to be spliced together.
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-14, 10:39 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not a problem. Just yesterday I had a J-Box with 4/0 Aluminum on a 200A breaker all the way down to #12 copper on a 20A breaker all in 1 box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: