Mixing wire gauges/circuits in same box

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-14, 03:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mixing wire gauges/circuits in same box

I have a junction box in the basement that contains wires from 3 circuits. a 15a,20a and a 30a. Is it bad practice to have mixed gauges (or multiple circuits for that matter) in the same junction box?
 

Last edited by pcboss; 06-26-14 at 03:44 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-14, 03:52 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,055
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
Nope. It is done all the time and is A-OK. In commercial jobs we have installed j-boxes, and seen others installed, that have 30+ circuits in them.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-14, 03:52 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
Mixed circuits are fine in the same junction box. All the grounds need to be spliced together.
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-14, 11:39 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not a problem. Just yesterday I had a J-Box with 4/0 Aluminum on a 200A breaker all the way down to #12 copper on a 20A breaker all in 1 box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: