Reconnecting a broken circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-27-14, 07:57 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reconnecting a broken circuit

I have a shed in the back of my yard, which had been connected to the circuit breaker in the house. We had a pool built last year, and the connection was cut. I want to reconnect, but we also have a detached garage that is in between the house and the shed, and it has unused breakers on it. So I can easily find where the wire connects to the shed, and I thought it would be easiest to run the wire to the box in the garage. I know this is electrical work so all the right warnings need to be given and followed, but I've been reading up on how to do this & it really should not require a professional in my opinion. Does anyone disagree?

A couple questions:
* I can use either 12- or 14-gauge wire, right?
* I need to use outdoor cable and bury it roughly 12 inches underground?
* This shed has two lights and one outlet - I can use a 15-amp circuit, right?
* Anything else I need to know?

Thanks for any advice you can offer!
 
  #2  
Old 06-27-14, 08:11 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
* I can use either 12- or 14-gauge wire, right?
15 amp breaker for #14 but at only slightly more cost why not a 20a breaker and #12.
I need to use outdoor cable and bury it roughly 12 inches underground?
12" if GFCI protected and 20 amps or less otherwise 24".
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-27-14 at 02:31 PM.
  #3  
Old 06-27-14, 02:23 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the advice

Thanks Ray, and I will take your advice very seriously about being careful. You got me a little nervous.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: