hard wiring a range with aluminum wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-29-14, 09:04 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hard wiring a range with aluminum wire

My old range was hard wired and I found out after buying a new one that my condo has aluminum wiring for the range. Can I just use the existing aluminum wiring to hard wire the new range or do I have to buy an appropriately rated AL/Cu receptacle and install it? The only thing the directions for the range say is, "If you connect with aluminum wiring, properly installed connectors approved for use with aluminum wiring must be used."

Its a GE ...model JB630DFBB

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-29-14, 09:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
Do the instructions call for it to be hard wired or does it give the option of cord and plug?

Appropriate connectors or receptacle will be needed either way.
 
  #3  
Old 06-29-14, 09:21 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The instructions give the option of either hard wiring or attaching a plug. The old range was hard wired using the aluminum wiring, but the old range was almost certainly installed in 1990 when the place was built. I do not have the old range any more and so cannot look at the connections.
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-14, 09:35 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You meed some of these aluminum lugs and some noalox.
 
  #5  
Old 06-29-14, 02:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
Most appliances today specifically state use copper wire only for direct connection.
A cord and plug is an acceptable connection method.
 
  #6  
Old 06-29-14, 05:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
Those lugs are not made for splicing.
 
  #7  
Old 06-29-14, 09:30 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Those lugs are not made for splicing
Of course, they're made to connect to the terminal screws in the range.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: