What is the name of the red and black wires called?

Old 07-04-14, 07:38 AM
G
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
What is the name of the red and black wires called?

I have one of those LED lights (5mm) and it has a battery housing/case. There is a red wire and a black wire that comes out of the battery housing and eventually leads to the 5mm LED light bulb.

The wiring is way too short for me. I need to extend it by another 10-15 feet or so. The problem is I don't know what the wires are called. I'm sure this is very basic information for most of you experienced electricians, but I'm completely new to this stuff. I need to know what to call those wires so that I can ask the store if they have 15 feet of it.

Old 07-04-14, 07:49 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Its called wire... Try to read the side of the wire and see if it has a size - its probably 24 AWG at most.

Then go to the store and ask for XX Gauge wire. If you can't see anything on the wire then you need to work out what the amperage requirement is. Again if its 3 AA batteries or something then I would just get the same size wire as what you have in the device (take the whole thing to the store). You'll also need a way to connect the two wires together.

Old 07-04-14, 07:52 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
It's just called wire. 18 gauge wire from the auto pats store or thermostat wire or lamp cord or speaker wire. With a low amp battery set up it doesn't much matter. Most of us would just use what was laying around in or junk room.

Old 07-04-14, 06:35 PM
G
thanks! Do I need to solder the wires on to extend the length or can I just twist them together (the tips)?

Old 07-04-14, 07:02 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Not sure what tips are but cut the existing wire about two or three inches from the end and splice wire to wire.You can solder or use butt connectors or use wire nuts. Twist is not the best way but usually works.

Old 07-05-14, 04:20 AM
G