Door Bell question

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-14, 05:59 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Door Bell question

Should a door bell button be a normally open or normally closed switch? I'm having an problem with mine. The original one stopped working. So I went to the hardware store and got a similar one. The new one when hooked up conitually rings the bell. I metered the contacts and they are closed. I'm cufused.
 
  #2  
Old 07-04-14, 06:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A doorbell button is a normally open device. When you push the button it closes.
It sounds like you have a problem with yours.
 
  #3  
Old 07-04-14, 06:25 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I bought one. The switch was closed. Took it back and got another one and that switch was closed. That's why I'm confused. Should I take my fluke into Lowes and check them all before i get a new one?
 
  #4  
Old 07-04-14, 06:43 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,113
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
If the bell is ringing, then the switch is closed. Are you sure it's hooked up right and that no wires are shorted? If your meter beeps/reads correctly withe the leads crossed/uncrossed...then don't worry about that.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-14, 09:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
If you got two that were both closed the only thing I can think of is that they are special purpose switches like for an electronic chime.

Is it an illuminated switch ? An illuminated switch will show continuity on a meter because of the bulb that is directly across the switch. Some electronic doorbells have a problem with lit switches.

Can you leave a brand and part number ?
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-14, 05:40 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, Its a Utilitech # 0358561. That makes since with a Lighted Button.

do you have any suggestions?
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-14, 07:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
That part number doesn't show in the list of buttons.

So is it a lighted pushbutton ?
and.... do you have an electronic door bell?

You may have to get a button from somewhere else if that is all they have.
Most places have many different buttons unless you are looking for one particular type.
 
  #8  
Old 07-05-14, 07:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Does the chime work correctly if you just touch the two wires at the button together then separate to simulate a switch being closed then opened.
 
  #9  
Old 07-06-14, 06:51 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes. The chime works correctly when the wires are touched together.
 
  #10  
Old 07-06-14, 06:56 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This in the only model that have that matches the design and same installation as the original button. Stucco wall with two wires that are in a white PVC pipe in the wall. The button has a spring loaded clip that holds to the inside of the PVC when pushed into the wall.
 
  #11  
Old 07-06-14, 07:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Since the test works the button you are buying is wrong. If you can't easily find the right one it may be time to get creative with one that is. Simplest is to mount a standard doorbell button to a blank single gang cover plate and the cover plate to the wall over the hole.
 
  #12  
Old 07-06-14, 07:34 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your help Ray.
 
  #13  
Old 07-06-14, 06:19 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
The number you posted isn't the part number nor the model number, it's the Lowes item number or stock number. It's the right button, you are doing something wrong.

Shop Utilitech Oil-Rubbed Bronze Doorbell Button at Lowes.com
 
  #14  
Old 07-06-14, 07:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Try the button connected but with the wires hanging out and button dangling at the end..
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: