capacitors

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-05-14, 07:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West
Posts: 261
capacitors

If you live off grid and have tools it might be useful to have all capacitor start tools to avoid
sucking your batteries too much...if you have some tools that are not cap start can you just wire a cap inline to the hot wire?? Are some caps specific for this purpose ??? and could you wire 2 caps in a row to start a fridge or a small tablesaw???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-14, 08:09 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,023
I don't even understand the question. Most (all?) items that use a motor have a cap incorporated in the wiring already.

Smaller things like drills and table top fans wouldn't benefit at all.
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-14, 08:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,198
A capacitor by itself won't help anything start easier. A capacitor combined with a start winding is a different story.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes