240 baseboard heat wiring help


  #1  
Old 07-07-14, 07:41 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 240 baseboard heat wiring help

I'm running new baseboard heat into my living room, bathroom, and bedroom. I want to have three different thermostatsl the thermostat in the living room needs to control 3 baseboard heaters (the bedroom and bath t-stats control one heater each).


3 Questions, please:

- seems like t-stats are basically switches, so can I run from the panel box to the bath, then from the bath thermostat to the bedroom, and then from the bedroom t-stat to the living room one?

- would I then pig tail from each thermostat to the heater it controls?

- for the living room, where I want to control 3 baseboard heaters off one thermostat, do I run the line from the thermostat to the first heater, and then from one heater to the next, rather than running from the t-stat to each heater?

thanks to the smart fellows (and gals) who can help.........
 
  #2  
Old 07-07-14, 08:00 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I have started a thread for you. Please no hijacking in the future. Use the Start New Thread button in the yellow box in the upper left corner on the page that lists the threads
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-14, 08:03 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
How many watts are each of the heaters you are installing?
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-14, 09:27 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks...sorry

new to this, will seek out 'start new thread' next time.

watts: bathroom and bedroom 2 foot and 2.5 foot units. living room, 5 foot and 3 foot and 3 foot.

total run - 14.5 feet, roughly 15 amps, on 20 amp breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-14, 09:35 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
watts: bathroom and bedroom 2 foot and 2.5 foot units. living room, 5 foot and 3 foot and 3 foot.

total run - 14.5 feet, roughly 15 amps, on 20 amp breaker.
What is the wattage of each unit? All baseboard heaters are not equal, some have low and some have high watt densities.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-14, 09:51 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
375 bath; 500 bedroom; 1250, 500, 500 in living room. total roughly 3125 watts on 20 amp breaker
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-14, 01:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Are you sure the 3 foot units are 500 watts each, they could be 750 watts. I see you have a 2.5 foot unit that is also 500 watts. The posters here like to have the exact information in order to give an answer that is accurate as possible.
 
  #8  
Old 07-07-14, 09:53 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Typically the heaters are 250 watts per foot.
 
  #9  
Old 07-07-14, 10:16 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I haven't touched baseboard heat in awhile, but it seems the best design would be to put each room on its own circuit assuming you have enough space.
 
  #10  
Old 07-08-14, 04:39 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
that's the issue - only have the 20 amp breaker to work with. I'm pretty sure it can be done, just not positive how to do it.

the updated heaters I want to use and their wattage are below:

Bath: Cadet Baseboard - 2F350W - 240 / 208 Volt; 350 / 262 Watt, 24 in.

Bedroom: Heater - 2F500A - 240 / 208 Volt; 500 / 375 Watt, 30 in.

Living Room: 6F1500A - 240 / 208 Volt; 1500 / 1125 Watt, 72 in
5F1250A - 240 / 208 Volt; 1250 / 937 Watt, 60 in.
 
  #11  
Old 07-08-14, 08:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Why do you have only the 20 amp breaker? Is your panel full? Will it use tandems?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: