Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Need help wiring an inlet male power rocker switch (lighted)

Need help wiring an inlet male power rocker switch (lighted)

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-14, 11:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Need help wiring an inlet male power rocker switch (lighted)

Hi,

I bought this power switch on Amazon and it didn't come with a wiring diagram and I can't find one on the Internet. From what I can tell, I need to run some jumper wires from the plug terminals to the lighted switch terminals, but I don't know which ones. I tried what I thought was correct and ended up arcing and tripping the breakers.

Here are pictures of the front and back of the power switch. Any help I could get would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 10452
Size:  30.4 KBName:  image (1).jpg
Views: 12255
Size:  31.8 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-14, 06:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
What is the model and mfg. Of the switch?are the 3 terminals on the left in the pic connected to the plug terminals? Are the terminals that are bridged together common with a terminal on the plug? Is one of the terminals on the right connected to the ground or neutral ?I would think the neutral.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-14, 11:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Welcome to the forums.

I need a close up picture of just the switch and the numbers that are printed on it.

Name:  img.jpg
Views: 7461
Size:  31.7 KB
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-14, 04:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
I just realized that that is a 250 volt device so disregard my comments on the neutral connection,but a mdl# and mfg. May help.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-14, 04:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Maybe this info will help.
To connect so as to have the light on constantly - so the light helps you locate the switch regardless if it is turned on or not, or indicates that there is power connected to the switch - connect the incoming power (L and N) to terminals 1 and 2. When the switch is turned on, it will output the incoming voltage to terminals 1a and 2a.
I really can't believe it is this difficult to find a wiring Dia.
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-14, 09:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Geo......that unit only has three switch terminals. It's not exactly like most of the IEC320 C14 jack/switch plates.
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-14, 12:52 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Here's how to hook it up using the switch. Don't forget a fuse or it won't work. The black is a jumper, red is your load, white is neutral, and the green circle is ground. If you want the light in the switch to work use the white jumper to the switch I am showing.
Name:  img.jpg
Views: 8507
Size:  33.3 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes