Breaker will not remain in on position with no load

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-14, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker will not remain in on position with no load

Hello,

I tried searching and sorry if I don't use the correct terminology.

I tried to install a new thermostat, once finished wiring I attempted to flip the "A/C" breaker back on but it wont stay in the on position once I take my finger off it goes right back to the off position.

I went into my bedroom and found what I think is the breaker box that is separate just for the A/C unit. With that removed still no change.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]34490[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]34491[/ATTACH]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhCWElpNi4o&feature=youtu.be
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-14, 08:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,652
Received 517 Votes on 487 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes..... it does look like a defective circuit breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-14, 08:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No chance I can pick what I need up at walmart is there? It will be difficult without ac for the night lol.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-14, 08:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,652
Received 517 Votes on 487 Posts
Possibly the depot or lowes.... I doubt walmart.

Make sure you push the breaker solidly to off and try turning it on.
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-14, 08:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would it be a bad idea to replace the A/C breaker with the Hot water heater assuming they are the same?
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-14, 08:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,652
Received 517 Votes on 487 Posts
If they are the same amperage..... you can exchange them.
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-14, 08:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It worked thanks for your help Pjmax. Is there something I need to write down to know what one to get or can I tell just by the look?
 
  #8  
Old 07-09-14, 09:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just take the breaker with you and don't settle for a substitute unless it is on the list on the label inside your panel.
 
  #9  
Old 07-09-14, 10:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,652
Received 517 Votes on 487 Posts
That might be a Cutler Hammer CH-230

Weird.....the CH-230 is available at walmart
 
  #10  
Old 07-10-14, 08:42 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,301
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
I would purchase the latest version from Cutler-Hammer which is the CHF 230 breaker. The latest version has a flag trip indicator like the Square D QO series.

Eaton Type CHF 30 Amp 1.5 in. Two Pole Breaker-CHF230 at The Home Depot Lowes also has them.

That is strange that Walmart is now selling circuit breakers, but it's true although they are more than twice the price of a big box home improvement store and have to be shipped to you.

Cutler-Hammer CH230 30-Amp 2-Pole Circuit Breaker Plug-On - Double Pole Type CH - Common Trip: Computers : Walmart.com

If this were my bad breaker, I'd take the old one to a electrical supply house that stocks Cutler-Hammer products for a free one, they have a lifetime warranty. The big box stores are retailers and not distributors and probably cannot honor the warranty.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: