Recommended outdoor subpanels?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-14, 10:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Recommended outdoor subpanels?

I know I have been down this road before on this forum, but I have finally built my AG pool and have a 1.5hp filter pump running. However, it's running temporarily via an extension cord (that I disconnect when not in use) and I would like to install a subpanel ASAP. Can anyone suggest a good outdoor panel that has single phase 120V and possibly room for a standard 15-amp outlet? Of course it will have to be able to support GFCI breakers as well.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-14, 10:53 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
How many circuits do you need? Siemens makes a real nice 4-space, and Square D makes a real nice 2-space and 6-space.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-14, 08:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
I think 4 will be more than enough. Would be great if I can get a timer in it as well. Links?
 

Last edited by StoningtonQB; 07-10-14 at 10:26 AM.
  #4  
Old 07-10-14, 10:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Possibly this one:
Intermatic Controls & Timers - Swimming Pool Supplies, Parts, and more - Backyard Pool Superstore

T21001R model
Thoughts?
 

Last edited by StoningtonQB; 07-10-14 at 11:39 AM.
  #5  
Old 07-10-14, 11:04 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
It isn't U.L. Listed, I wouldn't use it.
 
  #6  
Old 07-10-14, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Apparently it meets UL standards according to some sites
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-14, 11:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Do you know of one that is?
 
  #8  
Old 07-10-14, 12:35 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546

It isn't U.L. Listed, I wouldn't use it

It says right on the spec sheet it's CSA (C-US) listed. It may not be UL, but it's still a NRTL.

I've never used one of the Intermatic panels you posted, but I've seen them installed and they're pretty nice.
 
  #9  
Old 07-10-14, 01:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
It says right on the spec sheet it's CSA (C-US) listed. It may not be UL, but it's still a NRTL.

I've never used one of the Intermatic panels you posted, but I've seen them installed and they're pretty nice.
Thanks for the info. This one seems to check out from my research. And it's SPST which is what I'm looking for.

One more question for all the experts, not pertaining to this particular panel but a wiring question in general:

As I pull my THHN / THWN through conduit, should I pull a ground wire as well? I ask this because 1) I'm not certain if my neutrals in the main breaker panel are isolated from the grounds (I will check). 2) If the worst happens, and disaster strikes, will it affect the main breaker negatively if the two panels are grounded together?

This panel will have its own grounding rods. Would it make sense to join grounds? I could use a little direction on this part!
 
  #10  
Old 07-10-14, 07:59 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Pull an insulated ground. The neutrals and grounds MUST be separate in a sub panel. Also if this is for a pool or feeding receptacles, everything must be GFCI protected.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes