Detached Garage Electrical Questions

Old 07-11-14, 12:00 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Detached Garage Electrical Questions

Hi all,

I have some questions regarding installing a sub panel and wiring in a detached garage. I would like to say flat out that I'm an electrical newb, but I'm an engineer and I'm here to learn and understand, not to hack this project. If I have any doubts whatsoever for any part of this, I will consult a professional. But, things like gathering materials and doing the labor work I know I can handle. Plus I really want to understand this stuff. So, here goes! I'm located in south east Michigan.

Last fall I ran empty 1.5" conduit (2 separate runs, 1 for low voltage) from the house to the garage (permitted and inspected) before having a concrete patio poured over top of it. 16' from the house to the garage, approximately 35' panel to panel. So now I'm set to wire up the garage. Loads in the garage will be pretty standard for a decently handy homeowner: 5x4' double bulb florescent lights, 1/2hp garage door opener, basic power tools like circular saw, fridge (or maybe mini-fridge), 4-5 outlets, 1 exterior outlet, and one exterior light. Possibly a small air compressor or a table saw or something down the road. I'd also like the capability for 220V to be installed at a later date if I ever need it or even by the next homeowner.

My main panel is 100 amps. My plan is to feed 50 amps (I'm thinking that's enough for those loads?) to the garage sub panel, which is also a (smaller) 100amp panel with 8 spaces and a main breaker shutoff. I bought #6 THHN (2 hots, neutral) and #8 THHN (ground) wire to run from the main panel to the sub panel. This will be done all inside pvc conduit (panel to panel). I'm pretty sure, based on my research, that everything up until this point makes sense as far as planned loads/power/equipment, but I'd love someone to confirm!
Now for my main questions/concerns.