30 amp 240 volt outlet ground or neutral wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-12-14, 10:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
30 amp 240 volt outlet ground or neutral wire

I picked up a 240v 30 amp outlet. The box says non grounding. I am running 10-3 using the red and black as lines. I am a bit confused whether I should use the neutral wire or the ground wire. The plug has an L shape where the neutral or ground goes.The diagram shows the neutral going to L shaped terminal. But I am not sure if that if it is 120v? Does it make a difference since the ground and neutral bars are tied together in the panel?

5207 > Power Receptacles > Straight Blade Wiring Devices > Electrical Wiring Devices > Products from Leviton Electrical and Electronic Products

The wire diagram at there website looks like its using the ground but the box says neutral...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-12-14, 11:59 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
What is the usage of this receptacle? Most receptacles require grounding.
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-14, 12:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
The receptacle is being used to power a control box. The box has 4 15 amp outlets that are controlled through a relay. It is being used to control some lights.

http://www.generatorsforhomeuse.us/w...nema10-30r.jpg

http://www.galesburgelectric.com/ima...ng-diagram.jpg
 

Last edited by Nate_; 07-13-14 at 12:31 AM.
  #4  
Old 07-13-14, 01:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
That receptacle was used in the old standard wiring for clothes dryers where a specific exception to the NEC allowed for a combined neutral and equipment ground when wired to a service panel. It now can ONLY be used for replacement in grandfathered circuits.

Assuming that the four 15 ampere circuits in your "control box" are 120 volt circuits that receptacle is NOT allowable for feeding the box. You need a four-prong receptacle with a matching plug along with a four conductor flexible cable for the two "hot" conductors, the neutral conductor and the ground conductor. The neutral conductor MUST be either white or grey and the equipment ground conductor MUST be green.
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-14, 09:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Standard receptacles are limited to 20 amp maximum. You will need to reduce the size of the over current device ahead of the receptacles.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes